We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a warm welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spice

The Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Excellent good value Indian food with friendly service. Camden Road is a bit grubby but I guess their rent is low and they pass that on to their customers. Once we booked a table for 12 on a Sunday evening in Winter. By the end of the afternoon most had cancelled with illness and the last episode of a Downton series. We finally booked a takeaway for two instead which we felt terrible about. They couldn't have been nicer. This kind of service is what makes you go back to a place, modest friendly staff who value their customers. I highly recommend their onion bahjis! Delicious. The last time we took family there a few weeks ago we had a lovely meal as usual and it's a nice touch offering a digestivo, brandy or baileys at the end of the meal. It reminds you they aren't a chain where you never get anything for free.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alicefilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    32
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Spice is fairly far down Camden Road, but is well worth the walk from the centre of town. The exterior is not obviously inviting, its interior has a fairly traditional Indian restaurant feel, and the menu looks similar to many other menus. However the cooking was outstanding, and the four of us who ate that evening thought it was one of the best Indian meals we have had in a long time. We shared Lamb Khorai, Bombay Supreme and Chicken Sizzle Jalali for our mains which were all very good (and just modestly spicy), and the Motor Panir (cheese and peas) was a stand out from the vegetable dishes we ordered. The cost was very reasonable, which when combined with good service and even a surprise complementary brandy, made for a great evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a takeaway here which I'm sure was a bhuna if I remember correctly. I was told this was the best place to get a takeaway in t wells. So disappointed with the lack of flavour of the dish. No spice and tasted like a bland onion gravy.

Maybe it was just a bad day and I would probably try again and hopefully I can write something more positive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Learos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long term family favourite”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family are regulars at the Spice and it never disappoints. As vegetarians they have always gone the extra mile to help us, although their menu is great anyway. The staff are friendly, the service is very good and the quality of the food is excellent. This is why we go back week after week. The Clark family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best curry in town!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I are regulars at The Spice and they never disappoint! The service is always so friendly and the food is perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing