We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cafe by any other name would not taste as good”
Review of Juliet's Cafe

Juliet's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cafe by any other name would not taste as good”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Juliet's was recommended to us by our hosts at a local bed and breakfast. Though it was a bit of a way from where we had parked, and the tables were all busy during lunch, it was well worth the walk and the wait.

Everything was home made and tasted exquisite: I had the stew and my wife had the soup and we shared the smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich. They had a window filled with homemade cakes that we would have tried had we the space after the lunch. Must mention how attentive the staff were at all times despite the busyness.

It was a little crammed on account of the time of day and there was a little mix up with the orders (hence the 4/5) but it should not deter you from trying out this excellent cafe. I wish there was one where I lived!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    135
    36
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky tasty tea haven with dreamy cakes.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

It may look like a ramshackle furniture bring n buy sale from the outside but that's part of the charm. The old tables, mixed up chairs and bucket loads of non matching olde worlde bone china set the tone for this easy going cafe. But what sets it apart is the wide range of tea, good coffee and amazing diet destroying cakes. It's all good!

And if you want breakfast or lunch you have a small but well formed choice of freshly prepared options that won't break the bank.

There's a reason it's often full !

Helpful?
Thank martinwjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cake and service withe a smile!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I try to pop in to Juliets when I come to T Wells. This is a very popular little gem of a place. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, great cake with interesting options ranging from traditiional scones to elderflower and lime cake, also gluten free options. Lunches are lovely too with always something interesting in offer. Can recommend for a pleasing respite when shopping. A good pot of tea to be had too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ICK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A clever idea, full of character”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The perfect place to spot 'ladies that lunch,' the food I had here was delicious, and very generously-portioned too. There was a lively atmosphere, and we had to wait for a table, which I see as a good sign at lunchtimes. They have a very simple system for choosing food which does away with the need for a big menu, andf makes your food arrivae at your table very quickly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrlockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVELY”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Tea, coffee, MASSIVE sponge cake, gorgeous, freshly baked scone and friendly, efficient staff. Don't know what the poor reviews are on about. We'll definitely be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicodo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliet's Cafe also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Juliet's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing