We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Dull Vin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel Dull Vin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had booked as a group of ten for a 50th birthday dinner, all staying the night at the hotel. The check in was quick and efficient and we were shown to our rooms, where the check in lady said she would turn on our lights! There is the problem, two bed side lamps and a desk lamp were all that we had. Not a major problem to me, but my wife indicated that putting on her make up might be an issue! The same was said by the others about their rooms.
That being said the bed was very comfortable, and the small bathroom had an absolutely wonderful shower.
The dullness of the lighting seemed to flow through to the bar and restaurant, but the company lightened up the room! The bar staff were first rate, with quick and good service.
The food was very good as was the wine and reasonably priced. The service was what I would call a little slow, but they were busy.
We all arrived for breakfast at nine, but it took over an hour for us all to get served. It was certainly hit and miss on your order, with some eggs seriously over cooked, whist others were perfect. The fact that it had taken over an hour to arrive did stop people complaining, as we all needed to get away!
A little disappointing given the build-up, but still a good night, probably better for a romantic night out for two than for a big birthday celebration.
Don't park under the tree opposite the main door, lots of birds!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip A, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to put on your review.

I am pleased that you had a good welcome to the Hotel and that you felt the bed was comfortable and enjoyed our great showers. I am however sorry that you felt the room was too dark particularly for putting on make up, we are currently looking into installing some additional lighting into some of our darker bedrooms and hope to resolve this soon.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our bar staff and I will ensure this feedback is passed onto them. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed the food and wine and I am sorry this was a little on the slow side. It certainly seems that breakfast was not up to our usual high standards and I am very sorry that it took so long and that some of the eggs were overcooked, it is certainly a shame that your stay finished this way .

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and I will take on board your comments to improve our service and offering.

Kind Regards

Philip Archer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    231
    125
    71
    15
See reviews for
127
410
11
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The last time I ate at a Hotel du Vin I thought it was a bit grubby but as this was a few years ago in another town we booked the Bistro to meet some clients to lunch in Tunbridge Wells .Be warned there is little car parking and you may end up in the multi storey round the corner. We decided to go into the lounge for coffee whilst waiting and found tables grubby with cups all over the place and candle wax stuck on them. Crumbs and debris could clearly be seen under the sofas too. Nobody came to serve so we went to the bar to order our coffee. Then I went to the ladies. Oh dear! chipped paintwork grubby walls , cracked tiles and a toilet that did not flush! see picture. the toilet seat had seen better days as well. I hope it was not like this in the gents as our clients were from a Bathroom supplies company.
The food was nicely presented by efficient staff but I would have liked to have been brought the set lunch menu without having to ask. Eating a large a la carte portion such as half a chicken at lunch is not going to be on the cards these days. Shame to see the vegetarian option was mushroom risotto! How boring is that -should we be relieved it was not quiche?
service is included btw- my partner did not notice so he gave an unnecessary tip on top! Service was not THAT good.
With shabby public areas and pretty disgraceful toilets I don't think I would want to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Super communal rooms and bar, very nicely decorated, with a good atmosphere. We attended a party there and the food was good and the staff very hospitable. However, the rooms were disappointing. Our room was rather tired, scratches on the wall paper, frayed carpet ( and I do not mean shabby chic - just worn out) and not the quality I have experienced in the rest of the hotel du vin chain, especially when paying £169 which is towards the expensive end for Tunbridge Wells. I do not think I would stay again unless they had a cheap deal - very cheap!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mincimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed on a Friday evening, although we have stayed and eaten before this is our first review. On arrival we were checked in and shown to our room efficiently. Our stay this time was to go to an evening wedding reception so we did not want to eat in the bistro, we were just in time to order from the bar menu which was perfect for our needs. Service in the bar was perfect quick efficient although they were obviously gearing up for a busy night we weren't forgotten. Room was lovely, big bed, comfy, huge bathroom everything we needed was there. Breakfast in the morning was a delight as another reviewer has put no warm buffet here. Food cooked to order I had the Brioche French Toast and my wife had Smoked Salmon the only issue was that there was too much Salmon for her to eat! Fresh juices and coffee made it a perfect start to the day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggeorgethe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent the weekend in Hotel Du Vin recently with a group of friends. It was the perfect escape from London and the kids! The staff were all very helpful and the room was great, with wonderful views across the park. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a great time at Hotel du Vin, Tunbridge Wells last weekend. Met for a reunion of old house-mates from times gone by. From check in to check out, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was charming and spotlessly clean, overlooking pleasant gardens and a park at the rear. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was ample space for hanging clothes. The room had a safe (at no extra cost) which was large enough to accommodate a tablet and other electrical valuables that we like to lock away when on the road. The hotel's bar is very well stocked. It has a great range of single malts for the whisky connoisseur and a fabulous menu of cocktails. Breakfast was worth every penny. A great range of breakfast choices for every taste - no luke-warm buffet style full english here! Unrushed, table service breakfast and a late check out. Just the thing, if you happen to have over indulged on the cocktails the night before! Will definitely be back for more HdV, Tunbridge Wells style!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petitblaireau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Overall appearance of the reception area is "rustic". The room I had was large but badly lit. Impossible to work at the small desk. What was worse was the totally inadequate storage space for clothes, no drawers or shelves for shirts etc - what do they think we travel in?

The room was not very soundproof, voices could be heard in adjacent room, as could the plumbing.

For the price it did not represent values for money. If you like a quaint boutique hotel it may suit you but it lacks many of what I would want as essentials when travelling on business. They do promote their conference facilities thus should be better geared up for the business traveller.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inveterateguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing