We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a lovely night at HdV en route to our holiday on the South Coast. We were greeted by a very friendly, polite, knowledgeable receptionist who showed us to our room. The room (Rosemount) itself was a little dark, and perhaps a little small for the price, but wonderfully appointed and well stocked with very high quality complimentary items. It also lacked a long mirror, which would have been appreciated before we went out for the evening. The bar was, as we expected, fantastic; as was the breakfast the next morning. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    227
    122
    71
    14
See reviews for
121
407
10
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the moment the charming Clothilde greeted us till we left our stay in thus hotel was perfection. Our room was the Yerling Station which was huge with a sitting area, large picture window with a great view and three other windows. The was a bathtub and a walk in shower. Everything one needed was provided from central heat and air conditioning to magazines, fluffy towels and robes and the biggest bed we have ever slept in. Gorgeous sheets and pillows.
The public rooms were in a French decor and again charming. The food in the restaurant was sublime as well as the service. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed!

Room Tip: Yerling station room is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

As always HdV do the simple things well. Nespresso coffee machines in each room, extensive selection of toiletries and a well equipped mini bar. Their pimms was a work of art, and the breakfast always generous and tasty. Room was a little cosier than normal, but given we were conscious for at most two hours it did not really matter.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was nice but breakfast boiled eggs were like water. The hotel didn't recognise my payment via agodo and lost my voucher I handed in. I subsequently got charged twice and £33 for breakfast on top. When I got home I emailed customer services with a copy of the voucher and they refunded me, I then phoned them because they refunded me too little in error. It was then sorted out.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked this lovely hotel for our wedding anniversary upgraded on arrival to a beautiful suite, with the biggest bed I've ever slept in with gorgeous pillows almost to rival The Wynn pillows, we enjoyed the beautiful roll top bath with a bottle of champagne, the only downside was the people above us were incrediblely noisy and woke us up at 7am, that's the trouble with wooded floor boards. Definately felt like being in the middle of the countryside was very pretty. All the staff where very friendly and helpful definately will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dollyncrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

As far as I can tell from some limited research there are no 5 star hotels in Kent. This seems a little odd for the Garden of England. All of the country manors and mansions, and wonderful landscapes, but no truly outstanding hotels.

So when I was looking for somewhere special to celebrate Mrs Unravelled Traveller's milestone birthday, I had the option of heading for London, which is full to the brim of luxury branded hotels competing with tiny boutique properties or consider something a little less headline grabbing nearby.

I decided on the Hotel du Vin in Tunbridge Wells, part of a countrywide hotel collection that comes with an excellent reputation. The hotel is housed in a grade-II listed building, right in the midst of Royal Tunbridge Wells. The entrance is very imposing, the early Victorian façade creating an enduring image.

As we live close-by it meant that Mrs UT could have afternoon tea in the pretty tea rooms at the front of the building. Despite a little confusion from the waiting staff, the spread looked amazing, with cheese scones, traditional cakes and smart little sandwiches.

We booked into a Principal room, which has huge, and gave us far more space than we could have hoped for in London. Two huge windows afforded grandstand views of Calverley Park and across the rooftops of Tunbridge Wells. The furnishings were a little lacklustre however, and they looked sorry for themselves against the grandeur of the building and the sheer size of the room. A sad looking wardrobe housed the necessary facilities; iron, kettle, those annoying hangers that slot into hooks you can't remove from the rail. I did feel a little let down by the bedroom.

We were definitely not disappointed by the bathroom. It was large, bright and through the period windows you could watch the early evening skies whilst soaking in Miller Harris products. The shower was a triumph too...we could have fit at least 7 people in the walk-in shower, although we stopped short of asking the guests in the next room if they would help prove our theory.


That evening, we were dining in the warm and inviting bistro downstairs. It was a small restaurant, with a capacity to seat far less people than may occupy the hotel on a given night. We had booked a table ahead, but was still surprised to see it full on a Monday evening. We took this to be a good sign, and it did create a buzzing atmosphere. We were greeted by a young waiter, who gleefully took our name, checked it against his list, and walked off again. He returned with another waiter, who also asked our name, and checked the list again, just in case the ink had worn off in the last few seconds. We were seated in a cosy table in the corner. We both opted for the steak, one ribeye, one fillet and both were excellent which was to be expected given the price tag. We skipped desert, and finished off the bottle of our very decent house red and retired for the night

The bed was comfortable, although I am still always a tad disappointed to find two single beds squished together. My feeling is it is not acceptable in any hotel that sells itself as luxury. Nonetheless, we slept well thanks to thick, weighty curtains that held the morning light at bay. With the curtains open, the light flooded in so we sat in our matching armchairs and very much appreciated the free coffee from the in-room Nespresso machine. We headed for the breakfast, included in the room rate, although we did pay a £3 supplement to choose from the hot menu and filled up on croissants and juices too.

Breakfast was a nice experience, but it did cement some niggles I had with the service levels in general throughout our stay. The reception staff were excellent, including during some telephone calls I had made in the weeks before our stay. The waiting staff were very pleasant too and everything was done with a smile. We did experience a number of small mistakes especially at breakfast. Incorrect items were brought to our table and things we had ordered did not arrive. I could hear similar complaints from other tables. Our waitress did have trouble understanding simple requests for butter and wholemeal bread. We also felt that the waiters serving afternoon tea lacked knowledge, and were a little intrusive at times. Whilst it in no way detracted from our stay, it would definitely cause frustration to those staying on business, with little time for these kind of errors.

In summary, we would recommend this hotel, and it is certainly the best choice in Tunbridge Wells. The food was a highlight, and the bathroom was stunning, but some TLC is required in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnravelledTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Often you can judge a hotel by the way they handle problems and complaints. This was certainly true of this hotel in Kent were I could have come away spitting feathers rather than purring. Arrived mid afternoon to be told that the two rooms we had booked were not ready and would we like to wait in the bar. We needed food before attending a reception in the evening but on arrival we were told the kitchen was closed. I promptly returned to the desk to ask for an explanation, none were necessary as the deputy manager went straight to the kitchen and sorted out three sandwiches and a round of drinks for our trouble. Splendidly handled, a few more drinks and eventually to the room to prepare. Big disappointment. Too small. No room for me to work at my lap top and nowhere for my wife to do her make up. Add to this rather steep stairs to the bathroom and my wife cracking her shin on a very solid bed which took up most of the room. Worse was to follow when we returned in the early hours in the midst of a torrential downpour to find that the rain was pouring through a light socket in the bathroom. Too late to do anything other than switch of all the electrics in the bathroom and wait until morning.Once again the reaction was instant with apologies and £30 knocked off the bill plus an invitation to return at a special rate. The General Manager on his return contacted me immediately , apologised and offered us a complimentary night's stay, something I will take him up on because we would like to explore this town so close to our home but never discovered further than the cricket ground in the past. I do expect a different room( the other one would have been okay for a single if you didn't mind overlooking someone else's car park) but I liked the ambiance of the bar and the excellent if a little pricey breakfast. But most impressive was the reaction of those in charge to our problems. Will report back!
ps Brilliant WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.5 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing