We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts and beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts and beautiful hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

An excellent welcome followed by an amazing suite, with a bathroom you could live in, gave a great start to the stay.

Superb service in the bar with friendly and experienced bar staff.

We had a really comfortable sleep and had a leisurely morning with a great spread at breakfast.

Only negative point - my soft boiled eggs were hard - HA - if that's the worst of it then I'd happily stay there many more times.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to a bigger suite - the bathrooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWilsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    234
    131
    73
    16
See reviews for
130
416
11
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Three bedrooms were booked for three members of my family. A total of 12 guests attended what was a family birthday celebration.The guests and ourselves had Sunday Brunch and family members also had the breakfast.We were thus able to receive a comprehensive number of opinions on the event.
The meals were outstanding. We thought the Brunch was good value for money. Also the breakfast provided an excellent variety of food. Service was excellent even though the dining room was busy for the Sunday Brunch.
The bedrooms were of a very high standard. They were decorated in such a way as to complement the character of the hotel. Bedrooms were exceptionally clean, very well furnished with a comprehensive provision of facilities within the bedrooms including Mini Bar and Sky Television.
The staff were very efficient, courteous, articulate and all of them smiled which is very important. Overall all staff to whom we spoke had excellent interpersonal skills and were a superb advert for the hotel. Whoever recruited them deserves praise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 772Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stay here on a regular basis. If you are after a great hotel in a great location and enjoy food and service of a high standard then we can certainly recommend this hotel.

All of the staff here are a credit to the hospitality and leisure industry. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute and arrived to be greeted by two wonderful receptionists, Katie and Candice who singlehandedly sold the place to us before even getting to the room! The general layout and ambience of the Hotel are perfect, and the room was great, (all named after wines or champagnes).
We ate in the restaurant and the food was great, as was the service.
I would wholeheartedly recommend Hotel du Vin to anyone.
Thanks a million!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to stay overnight at the hotel following a family wedding despite only being 12 miles from home, Overall a good experience. Staff were very attentive. Check in and out efficient and fast. The room was small but adequate for our stay. Some decoration needed but hotel full of character. Our room overlooking the back garden was very quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep in a comfortable large bed. Bathroom sink was cracked and tiles on the floor also needed some attention,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I guess a complimentary upgrade is always a good way to create a happy customer but the Hotel du Vin would have got 5 stars without the upgrade. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was memorable. The upgraded room was very spacious with a lovely stand-alone bath. The room was quiet and the bed the right blend between supportive and comfortable.

The restaurant was the highlight though. I had a superb 28 day aged sirloin and a crepe suzette that was full of wonderful alcohol flavours (obviously the Scottish chef knows how to use alcohol!) The by the glass wine list was perhaps the largest I have ever seen and the advice that came with it was spot on. Perhaps in the top 3 of nearly 30 restaurants visited during our recent trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Harry (a lady) on reception was absolutely superb, she hit allright notes with her service and is definitely in the right place as front of house. I asked to change rooms to a quiet room at the back of the hotel and she sorted that out with no problems and was pleasant, funny, friendly and very helpful with my multiple queries. In fact it wasn't just Harry all the staff were great and they all smiled - nice.

The room was great (small) and absolutely fine for one. It was nicely decorated, really quiet and looked out over lovely gardens.

The restaurant was pretty good. although I had breakfast there and they served kippers covered in garlic butter!!!!! Really? Please can this be stopped.

If you're staying in Tunbridge Wells I can't imagine there are any or many other better hotels. Recommended.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing