We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne Tasting evening and overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We started our stay with a lovely soak in the bath, enjoying a cup of delicious coffee whilst milling around the spacious room in our bathrobes, then downstairs for a couple of hours doing a very informative champagne tasting followed by a delicious meal in the restaurant

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 906 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

First time I have been compelled to review anything on trip advisor but our stay at Hotel du Vin in Tunbridge Wells was so good that I wanted to recommend it to other people. The service was exemplary (including posting back a jumper that had been accidentally left behind without prompting), the breakfast was excellent and the room was absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately for us we are unlikely to be back near the area again but I may try and find an excuse...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this particular HdV. The hotel and its staff are a credit to this brand. Very friendly. The rooms are not as quirky as some of their other hotels but it is a lovely old mansion house. Service was impeccable. I look forward to staying hear again...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concorde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Got upgraded when we had to cancel my parents room and this was handled brilliantly by the reception staff as we did this at short notice. Room was looking over the front of the hotel, so the view could be better but this was a small price to pay for the size of the room, great shower and the bath in the bedroom!!
Evening meal was great, staff very attentive and the following morning when we made the decision to eat breakfast outdoors, the lack of fuss because they hadn't set this up was minimal. Especially as the rest of the guests who followed up decided al fresco dining was a good idea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janew662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for one night, as part of my wife's 40th birthday. The entire experience was superb, firstly the staff (namely Ms Meku) were so welcoming upon arrival and immediately made my wife feel 'special' by wishing her a happy birthday.
Our room was immaculate (my wife owns a large cleaning company so lets just say she 'notices things'), but not here, it was spotless. It also comprised of a complimentary bottle of fizz and a note of birthday wishes - a lovely touch!
We ate in the bistro where both food and service were exemplary. My wife had the pumpkin and Parmesan risotto, which she commented was one of the best she'd had. Presenting my wife with chocolate truffles by happy birthday singing staff was fantastic!
We also had breakfast, where the manager Mr Simon Maguire exceeded our expectations by presenting my wife with a present I had bought for her. He did this in a very discreet but very well executed style.

In summary, this hotel is a total winner in my opinion.

For any concerns about this review (as I always am about dubious reviews), we were genuine guests and this is my first review.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bn43guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

everything was arranged just how it should be! Simon the manager was on hand all day and indeed the next day, he was absolutely tremendous, everything was organised he made sure it was, everything was catered for and I recommend anyone getting married should chose this Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rochesterrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hotel du Vin at the start of November as part of long weekend. We arrived early and our room wasn't quite ready yet, but the staff were very welcoming, took our belongings and invitied us to have a drink in the lounge bar which was a lovely area filled with low comfortable sofas and a roaring fire! Just what we needed.

Our room was great, complete with a nespresso coffee machine, but the best part was the bathroom which had an enormous bath and a waterfall shower!

We didn't actually eat at the hotel (apart from breakfast) however after returning from a Sunday lunch elsewhere the staff in the lounge area where more than helpful with the extensive wine list and prepared a very nice cheese board for us in the evening to enjoy.

Breakfast on both morning was delicious greated with various options including a wide variety of pastries, fruits and cereals and a full list of cooked options. The staff were both welcoming and attentive on both mornings.

The hotel is very well situated, just a short stroll to the main shopping area of the town and a short walk to the Pantiles. We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would fully recommend it to others. It was just what we needed as a break away from London so thank you to all the staff and especially the manager of the hotel for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
292 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $132 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing