We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delapidated dirty and overpriced”
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Russell Hotel
A TripAdvisor Member
Swindon
13
Reviewed May 17, 2006

As a frequent user of hotels whilst on business, I have to state my great disappointment with the Russell. On entering the hotel, I found the receptionist totally apathetic when I enquired about the lack of a working restaurant, and the fact that I was given a dirty room in a house 100 yards from the hotel entrance. A shrug of the shoulders was the reaction I received - take it or leave it. The bar didn't sell any beer, and even though I am a smoker myself, the whole place stank of stale cigarettes, and the furniture was tatty and the floor dirty. I decided not to have a drink.

The room. Again, stank of stale cigarettes, and what passed for a sofa was stained and dirty. The plumbing in the bathroom caused the sink and toilet to overflow because of slow drainage, the hairdryer came apart in my hand, as did the shower hose that refused to stay attached to its fitting. I also find deep pile carpets in hotel bathrooms to be especially unhygenic. You cannot possibly bleach them!! The lights over the bed didn't work, and I didn't touch a skanky looking microwave in the 'kitchenette' that had not seen a clean in a long while.

From my gladly brief encounter with the Russell, my conclusion is that it is certainly not worth £60 per night in the dreary and delapidated state it is in, particularly when you consider a Premier Travel Inn adjacent to a Beefeater is only £48.

The one saving grace was a half way decent breakfast - but considering all else it was a very expensive one

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 184 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
554
Reviewed September 5, 2005

This really is one to miss!

From the threadbare carpets and time-darkened wallpaper as you walk in the door, this hotel is not worthy of even the two stars at which the AA has rated it.

Despite the headline features on its website that pick out in red that free car parking is available, the car park was very small and clearly insufficient for the size of the hotel. It was full when I arrived and I had to park hundreds of yards down the hill. The receptionist just shrugged his shoulders and pretty much said 'nothing to do with me' - or would have done had is English been good enough!

The rooms were small and dark, the furniture old and worn, and there was clearly no differentiation between smoking and non-smoking rooms as mine stank of stale cigarettes. The bathroom felt uncared for, not exactly dirty but the toilet and sinks could do with some bleaching.

The whole effect was to make the place seem more like a DSS bedsit than a hotel. I cancelled the rest of my reservation and the receptionist became really stroppy and charged me a cancellation fee equivalent to one night's charge (I'm still fighting that!).

I'd recommend that you stay there only if desperate as I had a very miserable time of it.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margotlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Benoit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: préférez le côté parking, à cause du bruit relatif.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nounette27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy7140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.2 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 80 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $82 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With style and comfort coupled with convenience, this hotel set in the very centre of historic Tunbridge Wells is positioned on the edge of the rural common.The hotel was built as a residence in the Victorian era and became one of the town's leading hotels in the 1920s. Set on the edge of the Tunbridge Wells common, it is only 2 minutes stroll from the shops, restaurants, cafes and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing