We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not worth the price!”
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell Hotel
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definately not worth the price!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding in Tunbridge Wells. Arrived on the friday night to a very small carpark that was full so had to park on the street (double yellows but apparently all of the streets are). Checked into our room which was an annex down the street, no offer to help with our bags. The room was large with a small separate kitchen and bathroom and bathroom. Furnishings were extremely dated, very seventies. The room had a odd unpleasant smell that almost smelled like old cigarettes but as its a non-smoking hotel that was dismissed very quickly. The bed was large and very comfortable though which was a relief. The bathroom was a wierd olive green colour and the toilet a very week flush where is wouldnt even take tissue paper!

Breakfast was a let down. I ordered poached egg on toast (one egg on one slice) and upon cutting into it was almost completely raw. White water pouring out of it. Left the hotel to find a parking ticket on my car thanks to the double yellows (my fault i know for not wanting to park a mile away).

Breakfast on the second morning was better as i opted for a full english. Had a pot of tea but the milk was completely off and the gent serving us argued for around ten minutes that it wasnt! Another family had complained about the same issue half an hour before and it hadnt been changed.

There are a couple of good points, slept well and clean room is about it.

Still pretty annoyed about the car park ticket too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    49
    29
    31
See reviews for
30
68
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have given this a 5* review based on the fact that it is only a 2* hotel. My husband & I stayed for a night in one of the annex rooms, it was spotlessly clean and the room itself was light and airy although the carpet was old it was clean, there was also a 32" flat screen TV. We also had a fridge, toaster and microwave in a small kitchenette and a nice sofa in the bedroom. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower which again were spotless although a bit old in style. Breakfast was the usual array of cereals, yoghurts and juices and the full English was very well cooked and tasty. The hotel itself is old fashioned but it was okay. If we go to Tunbridge again we will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was No. 511 in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for one night in July 2013. Hotel is badly in need of revamp with colours of mustard, orange and brown making a very 70's look. Our room had not been hoovered and the bathroom was truely shocking. The bath was dirty and looked as though someone had tipped coffee down it. The walls and bath were an oppressive green colour and the toilet seat was of the old fashioned wooden type. The sheets were clean and shampoo and shower gel were provided. The breakfast and dining room were typical of a working mans cafe and since my cutlery had not been cleaned properly I found my appetite decreasing. Could do with a visit from Alex Polizzi as it is in such a convenient position for the town but owners clearly now nothing about currrent expectations from customers.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My grandson and i stayed here during a junior golf championship at nizels golf club thur and fri 20th and 21st june which was about a 20 mins drive my son booked it but could have done a lot better,the car parking is small and its a struggle to park, the access from the car park to the reception is a hike,the decor on entering is grubby and dated whole place needs a coat of paint, the reception was plesant and helpful
we went up to our room which was 70s decor beds was clean and comfy,
the bathroom was boardering on scruffy the hot water was nucular no soap one towel, the noise at night from passing drunks made sleep impossable until after midnight, and the price of £85 a night was a rip would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good place for 6 tired cyclists! We had the 2 triple rooms, one above the other at the back of the hotel, while we were given a lockable basement room for the bikes. Rooms were clean, bedding and towels fine. My mattress was nice and firm, not on it's last legs at all. Plenty of hot water in the shower, good pressure. They happily opened the bar for us after we went out for a meal.
Breakfast was good; between us we ranged from the full English to just boiled eggs and toast. All pleased with our food.
Room did get hot in the night. Probably not smart enough décor wise to take my wife for a romantic break, but it was everything I hoped for and more for us cyclists!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Positives:
car park available but small one, Breakfast was okay but not great.
Staff were pleasant. Bar was open even at 2300 for lodgers, which was good.

Negatives:
Lot of noise from the main road. I had to keep the windows open as the radiator was boiling hot and I tried my best to lower the heat but could not. I did not bother to report to the staff as I checked in quite late and I wanted to hit the bed soon.
2. The shower was little dingy. The hot water again was so hot that I almost got scalded when I jumped in to the shower.

Overall I thought it was not worth your money. I spent £49 and you can get similar rooms for £30 with Brittania Group of Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbsdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place doesn't even get the basics right. Not clean, no soap in bathroom, one towel for two of us, curtains so thin the light came streaming through at dawn, really hot room for some reason, meagre breakfast in dreary room - all for the sum of £100 a night! If you just want straight forward accommodation, there's a Travelodge down the road. The one upside: we complained and got a significant discount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroadBean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 80 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With style and comfort coupled with convenience, this hotel set in the very centre of historic Tunbridge Wells is positioned on the edge of the rural common.The hotel was built as a residence in the Victorian era and became one of the town's leading hotels in the 1920s. Set on the edge of the Tunbridge Wells common, it is only 2 minutes stroll from the shops, restaurants, cafes and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing