We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2012”
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Russell Hotel
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at the Russell for pleasure. Over the past few years stayed in different rooms in the Hotel and their Annex.

This year I booked early to obtain a ground floor room in the Annex. It was large with plenty of hanging space with a microwave in the kitchette.

Every room I have stayed in was very clean. The Staff are friendly and effecient.

I have stayed at other more expensive hotels in Tunbridge Wells but this is the Hotel of my choice.

The location couldn't be better as a very short walk to the centre of town.

I have no reservations about recommending this Hotel.

Mrs B.Cooper



.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 182 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having had a wedding in Tunbridge Wells i decided to stay in a nearby hotel. This hotel had the best rates that included a full breakfast & it was a 5-10 minute cab journey to where i wanted to go. i paid £80 for a double room or it was £65 for a single for a saturday night i thought this was reasonable. However, i've stayed in Devere country hotels which are nicer for more than half the price. Having said that i coudn't find anything cheaper in the area for where i wanted to go.
I was a bit worried about the mixed reviews i couldn't decide if it would be worth £80 or whether i should just get a cab home, i'm glad i stayed it was lovely. I had a friendly greeting at arrival, my room was in the annex buildings just behind the reception- you have to leave the hotel to get there which was a little strange, i felt like i was going to someones house to stay. You have your own key cards to get into the annex buildings so not anyone can get in, it has a lounge area which i doubt anyone ever goes to however it is nice it is there, i made my way up the stairs and was pleasantly surprised by my room. It was better than expected, a nice clean spacious room, large flat screen tv, it had a separate kitchen area (size of a walk in wardrobe) had the basics kettle, sink, microwave, fridge, washing up liquid, coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc, handy if you were to stay longer. it had a shower and a bath, i used the shower and it was powerful, all very nice.
The breakfast the next day was very nice, i had a full breakfast but you can choose what you want like if you wanted poach eggs, scrambled etc. you get 4 slices of toast, you can have a pot of tea or coffee, there are jams available, cereal, juices etc, everything you need really for a hangover.
I then had to check out by 11, i would've liked to have been able to stay at the hotel longer, walk around Tunbridge Wells etc but unfortunately i was only there for the night. Overall a lovely stay and i recommend it. If you're not after luxury but after a comfortable nights sleep and good breakfast and somewhere central then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlitzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

i stay at this hotel once a month for a few days, the staff are very helpful, and really try to make my stay as comfortable as the can.
the rooms are very clean and a good size, the hotel is located in a good part of town, walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
the room rate is very reasonable, for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1saltpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We are a family of four and stayed for a week. We had read the negative reviews and braced ourselves for what was inside as we walked into the Russell Hotel.

First impressions were good. We were given a very friendly welcome at reception. The decor looked dated. We arrived early and they offerred to store our luggage for us while our room was being prepared. We headed for the town and they said they would call us when the room was ready for us to check in. We had breakfast and came back to find all our cases moved to the room. A pleasant surprise as they do not have a lift and we had 4 large cases so we were not looking forward to lug them up ourselves.

We were in a family room overlooking the common. The room was clean. The bathroom looked like it needed updating. It didn't take long for our first impressions to take a nose dive. The toilet was a disaster! It didn't refill water quickly and we basically had to wait for up to 20 minutes after it had been used for the next person to use it!!! Worse still on several occassions it did not completely flush away and one had to wait for another 20 minutes for it to refill to try and flush again... Totally unacceptable. We complained and it was looked at immediately with polite apologies, but sadly things did not improve and that unbelieveable situation prevailed for the duration of our stay..... On one day the plumber visited 3 times and left us with a toilet that worked however we had to wait 20 mins in between visits...

The staff were polite and helpful but the facilities were not of a high standard considering we were paying £110 a night!!!

Breakfast was good. There was always a polite, friendly and helpful waiter on duty. The good thing was that it was cooked to order so it always arrived hot. Full English breakfast, tea , coffee, cereals, juices and yoghurts on offer. They accommodated special requests within reason and never minded us staying after 10:00am to chat over our tea when they closed the buffet. They do not have a restaurant and are happy for you to bring food back and eat in the restaurant int he evenings.

If you stay in a room by the road, it can be noisy from the traffic and chatter from passing pedestrian traffic. Thursday nights in particular seemed to be a very noisy night. To get a good nights sleep in the room we had by the road, we had to have the windows shut. There is a lounge and a bar which is stocked with drinks and we used it when we had visitors one evening.

The beds were comfortable, tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided. We were not impressed with room service as the room did not appear to have been cleaned for a number of days in a row.

It is expensive for what it is as, £110 a night for the family room is at par with some 3 star hotels and one would expect similiar if the rooms go at those prices. Overall they could do with updating the rooms especially the bathroom. Not sure about the peach colour bath tub and basin. The Russell Hotel does have its pluses like the car park which is a great help given parking in Tunbridge Wells is expensive and it is not always possible to find parking close to the hotel. Its location near to the city, shops and restaurants makes it well positioned and if you don't have a car most places are within walking distance.

It could be a great hotel if they paid attention to detail. As it stands it is an average hotel with a 3 star price tag. Will I stay again? I am not sure. If there are other hotels in the area available on the night, I am sure for the same money I could get a better experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road would be better as there is less noise coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked this hotel at the last minute and probably would not of booked of other hotels were available. The hotel certainly needs a refurb, rooms need painting and the breakfasts leave something to be desired, how they imagine non residents
would handover £8.50 for it is laughable. The highlight of the stay was the manager, I believe his name was Jay, a very polite, genuine and helpful chap, who will hopefully be given a bit more free reign to update the hotel. If it wasn't for the manager I wouldn't go back, but that said the location is pretty good and the bed is a welcome break from all the walking.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Really comfortable room with Bath and Shower, hot choclate as well as tea and Coffee provided. Yes the decor is dated and I was disturbed during the night once by guests coming in at 2am. But overall I think this hotel is really good value, staff were very polite and breakfast was smashing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had read horrid reviews of this hotel so sucked in my breath as I entered to check in. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the decor of the common areas was pleasant. I stayed in room 37. It was clean and spacious enough for one or 2 but yes, the fixtures and fittings were rather dated but this only caused a problem in that the phone was temperamental and the iron & trouser press in the room didn't work. The room (and shower water) was warm and secure and the windows had heavy curtains and double glazing for noise proofing from the road. Coffee at breakfast was ok and there was plenty of cereal and juices. I didn't have a full english breakfast - only toast (cheap bread) and cereals. Breakfast servers were attentive.

Room Tip: A room towards the back (away from the London Road) might be a bit quieter. If something doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9,690,304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 80 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With style and comfort coupled with convenience, this hotel set in the very centre of historic Tunbridge Wells is positioned on the edge of the rural common.The hotel was built as a residence in the Victorian era and became one of the town's leading hotels in the 1920s. Set on the edge of the Tunbridge Wells common, it is only 2 minutes stroll from the shops, restaurants, cafes and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing