We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand dame de T Wells”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grand dame de T Wells”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed on a Friday night so that we could eat in TW. We had a traditional executive room - a bit -1980s Laura Ashley in style, but generously proportioned with a huge if oddly arranged ensuite. Although on 2nd floor overlooking the rear and some ominously large extractor fans, we were blissfully unaware of any noise even with the windows open. The hotel seems to be having a bit of an identity crisis. Some parts are very traditional grand/country house hotel styled like the lobby and dining room. However this is completely contrasted if you go to the only public bar - this is styled a champagne bar more akin to a Russian vodka club. Some of the older guests who brought their papers to read in the bar looked distinctly out of place. The oddity continued with some ear torturing loud jazz music over breakfast in the trad surroundings of the lofty dining room (surely some quiet string quartet music would have suited the guests better - or is the choice of music really a way to keep the staff happy?). Great breakfast buffet although coffee pot was small for two of us and what is the reason to provide such microscopic portions of butter? A mystery to us!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back - although may overlook various ground floor extensions and floodlights ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serene_Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    220
    121
    51
    30
See reviews for
107
250
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

stayed here for work one night, everything was clean and service efficient. The hotel has character but there was nothing that wowed me, the food/rooms were good but not great. Be aware that breakfast can also take a while to arrive, I think that for the business market (which it appeared to cater to) a hot buffet breakfast may be more suitable for speed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A much needed peaceful and restful overnight, lovely views from our enveloping four poster bed. Had time to enjoy fabulous big bath and a really nice vegan friendly full English breakfast, very appreciated. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, pleasing decor, uncomfortable beds. Breakfast excellent , dinner was average but we were with a big group! Service and some hotel staff average. Treatments and Pool very good. Just sneaked Hotel into very good rather than good, when you put everything together !

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Worthingfoodlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, walking distance to town, but just outside in quieter, greener area. Very friendly and helpful staff in all functions including Spa a, comfortable rooms, attractive grounds and very good food.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

1st impressions, lovely hotel, facade and interior is lovely...rooms are well appointed, well furnished and very nice. Bar area, public areas are very nice.

However, felt as soon as we arrived, lack of warmth from staff, bit of a 'faceless' environment and lack of information and attention... Weren't told where breakfast was served, not told time.. Handed keys, 2nd floor that sort of thing.

This was a special use night for my 14yr old daughter and I.. Birthday and Xmas present fir treatments and a nights stay.. A little bit of care, attention and warmth would go a long way

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb19771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We took the Valentines Break at the hotel for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast (£250) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did not use the spa facilities but the hotel came up to our expectations in every other way.

From our arrival (in foul weather conditions) we were made to feel welcome. The staff were exceptional in their caring and attentive service. Our room was large and beautifully furnished and the bed was very comfortable.

Dinner was delicious and presented beautifully, the light jazz provided an enjoyable background sound. Never obtrusive but pleasant to listen to.

In the morning breakfast was the standard but none the less delicious for that.

The hotel was well maintained and I could imagine that a walk in the gardens (weather permitting, which it wasn't) would be delightful.

All in all, an experience we would be happy to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
20.0 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing