We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised :-)”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A group of friends arranged for a spa weekend here to celebrate a friends birthday and for what we paid i really wasnt expecting a lot...

Upon arrival i was very surprised at how grande the place was as the decor was surprisngly really nice. Our room was huge, compared to what i am used to, as i have stayed in a fair few english hotels in my time, so this was a bonus. Very clean and tidy and to my surprise a decent hair dryer, not one of them cheap nasty ones that you would usually expect. The bar is decorating in a very lovely way. We decided to have a few cocktails and some chips before heading to the spa where the girls had treatments. Cocktails and chips were yummy and the staff very tentative, although, this did slip later when some friends food took stupidly long and an order taken down incorrectly, which was a shame, seeing they seemed on form at the start of the day.

I didnt have a treatment myself, so cant comment however the girls thoroughly enjoyed their treatments and it definately made me envious that i didnt book one. Used the gym, which was nice and cool, and the steam room and sauna would be what you would expect, smallish but do the job.

We had a private room for our birthday dinner and omg the food, again to my surprise was delicious. We were heading out on the town last night so didnt want to eat too much, which wouldnt usually bother me, but this time it did as the food was lovely. I had the soup to start and a fish rissotto which was soooo tasty. The staff were amazing and couldnt be of more service. We left there very content and even when we returned at the early hours a staff member kindly went on a mission to find me some sauce for my chips :-) which was much appreciated.

Slept like a baby and went down to a beautiful dining room where the breakfast all looked lovely. i would only ever had cereal and a naughty pain au chocolate and some juice, but all was very nice.

I will definately be visiting this hotel again and i really cant understand how there are soo many quite negative reviews....well i certanly enjoyed myself here :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 728 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one Saturday night on a recommendation as we had a party to go to locally. My fiancé loves Spa treatments so this seemed the ideal venue and we splashed out a few extra pounds for a Premium room. We were allocated room 207 which is fine. It has a decent bed and quite nice bathroom but it is definitely not worth £180.00 especially as this doesn't include breakfast (£13.50 extra each).

The spa treatment was fine but the spa area and pool are very tired and in need of a lot of work. Most of the public areas we visited had a very dated look and feel but it's clean and the staff were all very helpful and friendly particularly those in the bar. The bar has been refurbed but not by someone who sits down much as all the three different seating areas I tried were uncomfortable, either too low, too hard or too far from the table. The mixed sharing platter is one of the best bar snacks I've had but make sure you're hungry.

All in all it's ok but not at the price.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is very dated and offers very little in the way of atmosphere or value for money, you
could easily be mistaken in thinking you are visiting granny at her nursing home.
After paying in excess of £150.00 per night i was disapointed in both the size any quality
of finish in our room. After arriving mid afternoon we ordered sandwiches at the bar which
took almost 3/4 of an hour to arrive. The quality of the buffet breakfast was also very disappointing with over cooked sausages and cold fried potatoes.
Theres a travelodge just along the road, book there instead.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve112dpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed following your recent visit to The Spa. Since acquiring the Hotel in 2007 we have invested several million pounds in a refurbishment programme, and whilst there are some very smart nursing homes around, I do not believe that to be an accurate analogy. We would always encourage any guests to raise their concerns with the Duty Manager so that any problems can be swiftly rectified at the time, however your comments regarding the breakfast and bar service have been duly noted and will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful romantic weekend. The restaurant was very nice (had breakfasts and dinners there), and on Saturday night had the most delicious home made ravioli. The maître 'd is excellent. Very welcoming, friendly and efficient.

The spa had good quality beauty products, and the beautician / therapist was very friendly and nice. The spa is small and the treatment rooms were cold.

I would recommend the hotel. We had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The first time we have visited this hotel was for our sons wedding reception on Saturday 5 th October (our stay was for two nights) the room was very spacious and clean we found all the staff very friendly and helpful. the wedding breakfast was excellent (for 110 people) the food was outstanding ( our compliments to the chef and his team ) the restaurant manager and his team were again outstanding very attentive. we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will return ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drabblesiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

ho·tel
"place for overnight stay: a building or commercial establishment where people pay for lodging, and where meals and other facilities such as conference rooms are often available"

spa
"resort with bathing and mineral water: a resort with mineral springs"

I Checked in with an open mind as always having read the negative hotel reviews. Having been asked for my credit card for 'Pre-Authorisation' I was immediately charged the full amount of the room. Having been given the key, I was directed to the room via the lift to the 3rd floor only to find that our designated room was on a seperate part of the hotel up a flight of stairs ( which isn't easy with 2 young children/luggage and a buggy).

Quality of the room resembled a simple B&B which made the Grosvenor hotel in Torquay look simply luxurious ( Sorry Mark !), with dated fixtures and fittings. Unfortunatley the Spa failed to impress which resembled a local authority swiming pool from the 80's,dated and dirty and in need of refurishment.

On a positive note the hotel's wifi is free and available throughout

Room Tip: Try the Travel Lodge next door or maybe the Hotel Du Vin for a touch of class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mapmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found the stairs difficult – we do have a lift but this does not service every single room due to the age of the building. Since acquiring the hotel in 2007 we have invested several million pounds in an extensive refurbishment programme, which is on-going. A scheme to improve and enlarge the spa area is being worked on, but this will ultimately depend on planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is very overpriced and very average, we were at a wedding at high rocks and decided to stay here because the wedding party were. The room had a four poster woooo which was made from old panels very small and noisy when you moved, the room was stuffy and musty we had to open the windows and go out to let it air. We had lunch in the refurbished bar which to be fair was not too bad apart from the bar manager who constantly rucked his staff at every opportunity and for no real reason. I did not realise that for my £200 it was room only and they then charged £30 extra for the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel and on a Sunday 8/10am for breakfast is rediculas, cold toast, wet bacon, no eggs and staff that could not be bothered at all and all served in a massive room with zero caracter, trust me on this stay in the hotel du vin and by pass this at all costs. Thank god the wedding was good,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrisb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We normally receive positive comments regarding our breakfasts, however we would always encourage any guests to raise their concerns with the Duty Manager so that any problems can be swiftly rectified at the time. We are also sorry that you did not like our 4 Poster Room. Since acquiring the hotel in 2007 we have invested several million pounds in an extensive refurbishment programme, which is on-going.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
906 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $110 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing