We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed on business and could not fault the hotel or it's staff.
Rooms were lovely and tastefully decorated
The grounds and general seating areas were lovely
Breakfast room was a superb way to start the day
Good parking facilities
Great conference venue
Excellent food choices with a relaxed, modern bar to compliment more formal dining.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 745 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

If I had wanted to end up at a nightclub I would have gone to one. This hotel is pure noise from early evening unill the early hours. Boom box racket from the function rooms. I'm told it's like this every Friday and weekend. Don't imagine your going here to sleep, because the management are too busy making money from events and functions to care about hotel guests. And they won't do anything about it. I complained 5 times and my room was on the other side of the hotel; I hate to think what the poor people trying to sleep above the noise had to contend with.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you have any thoughts of trying to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My daughter got married on 29/6/2013 at The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells and thanks to all the staff it was perfect day. Many of the guests stayed the Friday and the Saturday and we all had lovely rooms and good service. I would certainly recommend this hotel for for weddings, other occasions or just to stay for a short break. My special thanks go to Rebecca, the wedding co-ordinator and Denise the reservation manager and the Duty Managers for Saturday 29th June. My thanks also go to all the Bar staff. Everyone went that extra mile to make it such a wonderful occasion. We will ndefinitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to a friends wedding held here, and I have to say everything ran like clockwork. The hotel and grounds are lovely, and our room , and the bathroomhad been recently refurbished to a high standard.The function room was also fabulous.The staff were absolutely brilliant, very attentive, efficient and friendly. The Matre de running the show was first class, and the food served up was excellent and piping hot, not easy when you are serving 11 tables of 10 people. The bar staff were also very good.
Unfortunately the breakfast on Sunday morning was very poor. It was a buffet style, although you could order eggs in a different style. The buffet was just not replenished quickly enough, so when they had run out of one item you had to wait for another, meanwhile the food on the plate got cold waiting. The bacon was very soggy, although the sausages were good. The fresh fruit had all gone and it was not replenished at all. The coffee was barely warm and pretty awful. There was no comparison to the food and service we had experienced at the wedding. When you consider the price of the accomodation, the breakfast should have been first class, otherwise I would have rated this a 5.
Marks out of of 5 for the breakfast 1, marks out of 5 for the wedding and the food and service at the wedding 5.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crumpy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed as part of an organised tour, but were very comfortable in this charming historic hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and one dinner in the grand Dining Room were fine, and we had meals both in the front lounge and bar (with good ale on tap.) We enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Difficult to know what to say about this hotel really.

Externally it is nice. Gardens at the back of the hotel are beautiful, but is clear that the main attraction for the hotel is the wedding market as there are at least 4 locations throughout the location for a photographic opportunity.

Internally the hotel is about 30 years behind the times,afternoon clientele is the tea,scone and cucumber sandwich brigade, I was waiting for Basil Fawlty or the Major to come out of reception at some point,fortunately (or maybe not) that didn't happen. Evening meals - it has a very large restaurant but virtually no-one in it with probably more staff serving attentively than customers and therefore zero atmosphere. Food in the restaurant is not bad but it is trying hard to be a top class restaurant without the customers to back it up.

An attempt has beem made to modernise the bar area in the hotel but for my mind it's all wrong, it looks like something that was modern in the late 80's through a mass purchase from Athena but isn't right now.

Rooms are clean but very drab, the bathroom in my room had been refurbished recently but the main room itself felt very claustrophobic and I felt like I had seen the decor in my youth.

It will appeal to a certain range of clientele, I'm sure that for a wedding venue it hits the spot with the beautiful gardens, large restaurants and good location, as a standalone hotel for a stay in the area it's miles away from being ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding which was also being held at the hotel. Our room was really spacious and ovelooked the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel. The hotel was very well presented and stylish and was kept immaculately clean throughout. Our main criticism is with the restaurant - the menu that was displayed around the hotel looked really nice with lots of good choices, however thsi wasn't the menu that was served in the restaurant and the party we were with struggled to find anything they liked.
On another point, being part of a wedding party, we apparently had discounted rooms. God knows what it would have been without a discount!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJSKentnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
935 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
227 reviews
3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
300 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $104 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing