We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good traditional Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Vesuvio

Il Vesuvio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good traditional Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We love Il Vesuvio. Yes the interior is a bit dated with tacky murals and tables can be a bit cosy but the service is great, staff are friendly and the food is fantastic. Always tasty, good portions and good value for money. Will always recommend this over all the boring chains in town. Great authentic Italian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    70
    30
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is a must for real Italian food lovers, not your usual pizza/ lasagne place, this is the real thing. Friendly family orientated atmosphere, already looking forward to their Italian opera night on 6th June , good value too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianandelainelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Italian Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We came along for my husbands birthday and was greeted by warm caring friendly people along with having a wonderful meal. Many Thanks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and heard good comments from friends we were looking forward to our visit, having tried to book previously but always being fully booked, which is another positive sign.

We were not expecting the decor to be upmarket and it wasn't but it was absolutely fine. As expected it was full and had a nice atmosphere. The table service was fine throughout, but nothing special, as demonstrated when a dish was returned.

It was the food that we felt so disappointed about, which as a restaurant is the most important bit I guess!!

For starter our party had gamberoni x 2, whitebait and crab pancake. The gamberoni and whitebait had very little taste, although the crab pancake was described as nice. For main we had swordfish steak x 2, carbonara and veal. The swordfish was good but the salad was very bland, especially as you had to request a dressing for it. Surely, a dressing comes as standard or is at least given as an option by the waiter? The carbonara was again lacking any real cheese or bacon taste and was very gloopy. The veal was similarly described as OK but again the taste was bland. For dessert we had 2 panna cottas and a tiramisu. The panna cotta was very nice, lovely texture and flavour. The tiramisu was returned as it was still partially frozen in the middle. Having asked whether it was home-made and being told it was, this was another disappointment, as was nobody in charge chosing to discuss the return of a dish with us.

We all felt that going to this restaurant would provide real authentic and full of flavour dishes, but we went away comparing it unfavourably to the big Italian chain restaurants. It wasn't awful but we felt that the food lacked a punch when it came to the flavour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GoonerT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pre-wedding dinner delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Both me and my husband's families (a party of 20) came here to eat the night before our wedding. This was a Saturday night yet the restaurant was not over crowded and we were made to feel like family the minute we walked throught the door. Maria and the team were fantastic at providing an atmosphere in which we could celebrate and nothing was too much trouble! The tables had been laid up with flowers and decorations making it even more special for us. Several of the group had not been to this restaurant before but before we had even got out the door were talking about coming back again! Highly recomended and can't wait to return now as a married couple!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vesuvio also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Il Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing