We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great English Welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A & A Studley Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great English Welcome”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A lovely welcome from Lynne and we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. Delightful, clean and comfortable room gave us a great night's sleep followed by a beautifully cooked breakfast. We highly recommend it and will be going again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were in the twin-bedded room with its own bathroom. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, the bedroom comfortable, superbly furnished and attention to detail in both bedroom & bathroom was beyond belief. We stayed for 3 nights whilst National Trust-ing in the local area. The breakfast was second to none, meeting all tastes. It was served in a charming room by Lynne, a warm and welcoming host. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Both Lynne and John her husband made us feel relaxed and 'at home'. Cannot recommend Studley Cottage too highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were greeted by Lynne and John on our arrival and they are so warm and friendly. We were shown to our room which was the twin bedded room with its own private bathroom. The bedroom was absolutely delightful. Spotlessly clean and yet very cosy and welcoming. The bathroom is so tastefully decorated and again spotlessly clean. We had one of the best nights sleep we have had in a long time. The room is extremely peaceful and the bed was so comfortable.
Our breakfast was one of the nicest we have ever had. So much to choose from and everything is so beautifully presented. Pretty blue china and fresh Spring flowers, made the table look so stylish. Nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel so welcome.
We cannot recommend Studley Cottage highly enough and it deserves every single one of its many gold stars!
Thank you Lynne and John for letting us share your wonderful home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chab1is, Owner at A & A Studley Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
it is so nice of you to write all these lovely things about Studley Cottage, much appreciated and thank you very much. All the best and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Convenient location. Quiet area. Excellent comfort. Elaborate, British decoration. Charming, welcoming & accomodating hosts. Delicious and tailored breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC_MC_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We and two friends have just had a great 6 night stay at Studley Cottage. We based ourselves at Tunbridge Wells in order to visit various National Trust properties in Kent. I agree with the majority of other reviewers who have rated this property 5 star - it is difficult to understand where the one poor review was coming from! Lynne & John were brilliant hosts - nothing was too much trouble. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom well appointed and the breakfasts excellent. Sky tv in the bedroom even meant that I could watch the Midlands news.

We had several bar meals at the Royal Wells Hotel which is within easy walking distance of the B&B. We also found a fantastic kitchenware shop in the town centre called Trevor Mottrams. Anyone with an interest in cooking should visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mecaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a wonderful experience! There we were, just off a plane from Jamaica, and Lynn there to give us a wonderful welcome. She had waited all afternoon for us and we arrived a little the worse for wear. We enjoyed being fussed over and made to feel special. I cannot recommend this B& B highly enough. Stay there, you'll love the elegant surroundings and brillinnt furnishings within the house. It was a treat!

Christine Roberts of Perth West Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Studely Cottage is a perfect example of a well run B&B ideally located for a visit to Royal Tunbridge Wells and the many nearby attractions including the lovely Gardens of Sissinghurst, Great Dixter and in particular the romantic gem - Scotney Palace. Studely Cottage has clean and confortable rooms, a lovely breakfast and welcoming hosts. Although it is tucked away in a quiet leafy street it is a short walk to the city centre and the Pantiles. It lived up to the comments made by others and deserves it's high rating.

Room Tip: We had the exclusive use of a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Russell Hotel
Russell Hotel
#12 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A & A Studley Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & A Studley Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: A & A Studley Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Studley Cottage Bishops Down Park Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in Tourism Gold Award and Breakfast Award B&B in the heart of Tunbridge Wells, Kent.Elegant Victorian coach house in a quiet private road set in a tranquil and pretty conservation area. Unique location, secluded from Molyneux Park Road and other busy roads in the town area. Within walking distance of the town centre, fine shops and restaurants, historic Pantiles and mainline railway station which provides an excellent service to London and the coast.Delicious breakfast are cooked in the kitchen AGA and served to the table in the elegant old coach room - a wonderfully appointed dining room and a great place to relax over breakfast with views across pretty courtyard, gardens and south facing sun terrace. Silver Service is provided at the breakfast table which is attractively laid with top quality china, glassware and cutlery.Organic and top quality produce is served and sourced from the local area wherever possible. Special diets and requests are carefully catered for wherever possible.Studley Cottage is a haven for guests to relax after a busy day and enjoy a peaceful and pretty setting and is an excellent base for visiting the many beautiful gardens and attractions in Kent and Sussex.Free onsite parking for all guests. Free WiFi. French and German spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A & A Studley Cottage Bed And Breakfast Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing