We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In town for dinner at Thacherys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In town for dinner at Thacherys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Amazing hotel, super clean, super great service and food. Extremely good value and included breakfast is excellent, cooked fresh fresh and very nice. Only slight issue pillows in bedrooms a little firm for our liking, but room great and bathroom great. Stayed in town to eat at Thachery's...when in town again will book here again. Just such great value and service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    88
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
32
134
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights.Check in is at the bar in the restaurant that has a great western decor.All the staff we dealt with during our stay were very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. There are 9 hotel rooms all with Indian tribe names. The room and ensuite were spotless, the bed very comfortable and the room well provisioned. Only observation was for all the classy looks of the coffee maker the coffee and hot chocolate drinks were not the best we have had.
Would highly recommend this hotel which is very well positioned for a stroll through The Pantiles and into Tunbridge Wells center.
Ate in the restaurant one night and again staff were great and the food much as you would expect from an american themed diner. The breakfasts were fine and plentiful and having steak and eggs for breakfast was right up my street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jcw357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We Have Just Visted The Smith And Western Tunbridge Wells For The Weekend We Found The Staff So Friendly And Helpfull The Decor Is Amazing In Restaurant And Our Bedroom And Shower Were So Clean And resh Looking Would Go There Again Anytime And Will Certainly Recommend To Friends ,..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a couple of colleagues on business. The hotel was ideally situated to walk into the Pantiles and further into Tunbridge Wells. The bar/restaurant decor is truly out of a Western and the fit out is to a high standard giving an authnetic feel - including the horse saddle bar stools. To some extent this theme continues to the bedrooms but the Western theme is much more muted, gving way to bright, clean and comfortably furnished rooms with large modern bathrooms. A plus was the coffee machine

The staff were attentive, welcoming and helpful at all times. Overall this a really refreshing experience in quirkily styled hotel but cemented with funamentally solid customer service. I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the smith and western for one night on 18th jan, was ideal location as had a function to go to at high rocks which was only £6 by taxi.
On arrival we checked in at bar which was very quick, and were shown to our room.
Room not very big but had everything need including hair dryer, iron, tea facilities and for those that like the extras it had bottles shower gel, shampoo etc.
We ate in the restaurant and I can say it didn't let us down-food was excellent unlike previous visit to the Crawley smith and western. Only fault with it was some of the staff very grumpy looking-like rather be doing something else.
We had a good night sleep except corridor fairly noisy considering only 9 rooms-lots noise from people returning at 4am, our door rattled each time the door downstairs was opened-probably a breeze, could also hear the clock on outside of building chime every hour but only faintly and our room near top stairs which probably why.
We checked out at 10:30 (you have until 12 noon), after having breakfast in the smith and western-again the food and range was excellent and good value as included in room price.
I would return here again if going to functions in surrounding area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scottsinsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Read some reviews on this hotel that were a bit negative, get a life, this hotel was spotless, nice room,great shower and great room facility with fancy coffee machine. The themed rest was top notch both evening meal and breakfast were fine,, also staff spot on

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 131smithd444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed here for one night as a birthday treat. The staff were excellent, accommodation was very good although a little pricey. Food in restaurant was reasonable, although lacking a little in atmosphere towards the end of the evening. All in all a pleasant stay. Great as a base for a shopping weekend.

Helpful?
Thank SIMON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.2 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells

Property: Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Address: Linden Park Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 5QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
Smith And Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing