We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family lunch, service a little slow but good food”
Review of Palio - CLOSED

Palio
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one of the few independent Italian restaurants in Tunbridge Wells we aim to serve authentic Italian food, produced in house, using the freshest and best quality ingredients, locally sourced, when possible, in a clean and friendly environment, to make it a "bella" experience
Wadhurst
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great family lunch, service a little slow but good food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

had lunch there as a family, good selection and food was excellent. service good but the food took a long time which is sometimes difficult with small children, friendly and reasonable price, not open on Saturday

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Traditional food with friendly service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We popped in for a quick supper and had a feast! Food was fresh and tasty and the service was faultless. We have high expectations of restaurants and this one exceeded them. Cant wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Netballgoalshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge wells
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about?”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went for dinner recently after hearing many rave reviews. Didn't find food exceptionally good. Service and atmosphere was pleasant but not as cheap as we'd been led to believe. Wouldn't rush back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynC598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millau, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fine Service!!!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Recently went there with friends. When we arrived they had no note of our reservation made the previous evening but did find a table for us. Seems very popular but pretty ordinary. The service left a lot to be desired. We finished our main course, they took the plates away and we waited and waited. Watched one waitress relay tables, watched another pack up and finally we attracted the attention of the manager who came and took our orders.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Typical of Tunbridge wells”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visually the restaurant looks good. Always appears to be packed on a Saturday night. Tried it this Saturday out of curiosity. A nice table for two . Food was absolutely awful. Very basic requirement seafood in batter and spaghetti with garlic. Less than average. Service was poor. They try to close the restaurant down early. By 10pm you are being rushed out. The second time we have been. More disappointing than the first.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatebis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio also viewed

Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing