We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can I say...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Manakamana Gurkha

Manakamana Gurkha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What can I say...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

What can I say when your 13 other friends are eating away whilst all you have been given is naan! Around the point where my friends had finished eating i had finally received my order, however by this time, my naan had become cold... I thought that hopefully the quality of the food would make up for this pathetic service, however, although the food was not bad, it was definitely nothing special! Would I go back, don't think so...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    39
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent curries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Gurkha makes tremendous curries - the best I've had in Tunbridge Wells and they are consistently good. Well done!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurac2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The decor isn't fancy, there's certainly not plenty of room.
We eat food from here frequently because it is delicious!
We would also rather support our Gurkha friends than huge restaurant chains.
If you fancy something different, my advice is to order lots of small dishes and enjoy the feast.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure I would go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Party of 14 booked in advance. Food was ok but nothing special, service was not very good.
Had to collect our own drinks from the bar. Empties were not collected from the table.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pc11010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, will be going back very soon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

A group of us had lunch here. Wonderful food, great service with lots to eat. All food cooked fresh with plenty of flavor. Small and personal with quiet music in the back ground. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 260JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manakamana Gurkha also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Manakamana Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing