We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sauces”
Review of Manakamana Gurkha

Manakamana Gurkha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
East Sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb Sauces”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Been twice in the last 10 days.The sauces are always superb.Incredible flavours.Not the best visually pleasing curries but certainly up there with the best for flavour.Took a friend who hasn't been before.She loved it.Plan to go again for a Saturday lunch time deal.
Can't get enough of it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovegrub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    39
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Tunbridge Wells restaurant?”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful restaurant on Church Street, which from the outside looks pretty shabby, but that initial appearance really does no justice to the wonderful experience inside.

The interior of the restaurant is intimate and low-lit, with wooden furniture and some relatively sparse Gurkha decorations around the walls, and we could already tell as soon as we went in that we'd found a great place just from the smells emanating from other people's food.

The service is low-key, efficient and friendly, with the waiters attentive, but not so much that they become a nuisance. All our food and drink were delivered in good time, which was a treat because it was all so wonderful!

We had prawn puri to start, and what was most pleasing about that was the manner in which the taste of the prawns was not outweighed by the spices in the sauce (which were also delicious). Then we has half a barbequed spring chicken and a lamb Gurkha masala, both of which were excellent. The meat in both meals was cooked to perfection, and the spices and herbs tasted wonderfully fresh and distinctive, and both wee complemented by the delicious Gurkha rice and naans. This is definitely the best curry, at least, that we've had around here.

To top everything off, all the prices were very reasonable - our whole meal including popadoms and drinks came to less than £40, and it was worth more than every penny. Overall, this was a superb night out, and it really deserves to be higher than 16th on the Tripadvisor listings!

Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food , Great Price”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We got a takeaway form here having heard good things about their food.

We were not dissapointed , the food was lovely and you could taste the freshness of the ingredients.

Their Momo's are AMAZING .

Will definitely be returning for more !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really tasty food, and reasonable prices. Nice warm welcome, and friendly service. Would recommend to friends, and would choose to eat here again if I return to Tunbridge Wells.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_and_T_drinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

From the outside, this restaurant looks unassuming, however when you enter through the front door the authentic experience begins. This small intimate restaurant provides top service with not only amazing food, but also very low prices. If you like Indian food, then you will love this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manakamana Gurkha also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Manakamana Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing