We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and excellent staff”

Zizzi - Tunbridge Wells
Price range: $12 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Only two minutes walk from the train station and a stone's throw from the historic Pantiles, Zizzi Tunbridge Wells is a vibrant Italian restaurant in this royal spa town. It is set in a listed building with stunning features, including a classic wood fired oven, making a meal here the perfect complement to sightseeing or a shopping trip. The restaurant re-opened in December last year and now features its own traditional pizza oven, sparkling olive vats and plenty of other interesting little details that draw influence from the local area. Zizzi restaurants are passionate about simple Italian cookery. Whether it's pizza or pasta, salads or risotto, or carne and pesce (meat and fish), each dish is prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients - from the popular classics to Zizzi's own innovations - ensuring that you can enjoy a great Italian dining experience, at any of Zizzi's Italian restaurants around the country.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food and excellent staff”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I visited Zizzis last Friday and although we went for a very late lunch the service was great and we were made very welcome especially by who I think maybe was the manager. The young chef was excellent and the food obvious freshly cooked to order. We had the cheese fondue as a starter and a large fish sharing dish for mains. All excellent and followed off by limoncello and coffee. We really enjoyed everything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 586cammie586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    46
    52
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“AN EVENING OUT WITH FRIENDS”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a voucher so we thought we would try Zizzi's by way of a change. We were very pleasantly surprise. Very good and friendly service, good food and good value wines. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Poor all round”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Me and my two friends just wanted to grab a quick dinner. We were sat down and had our drink and food orders taken. 25 minutes later they arrive at our table. My friends g&t was flat, so we asked for another one. The next one was flat again. Finally the waitress brought the gin and tonic separately to pour at our table, and it was fine. Had to wait a total of 50 minutes for out food. My two friends food was fine, but I ordered the seafood risotto. The risotto rice had obviously been soaking in cold water and then quickly heated up in the pan because the rice was still hard inside yet mushy on the outside. The squid was overcooked and chewy. I received a complimentary cheese pizza which I was grateful for but wont be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mc55boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We decided to meet family in Tunbridge Wells at 6.30pm on Sunday evening to have a meal together. Ages ranged from 12 through to adult so we thought Zizzi's the perfect solution to please all. What a mistake that was.
The restaurant was almost empty apart from a birthday table at one end. We, as a table of 6 were allocated a table parallel to the kitchen & pizza ovens. Perfectly acceptable as it was chilly outside and the warmth of the ovens was very comforting.
When the waitress came across to take our food order we were informed that they had run out of three or four of the main ingredients of the dishes i.e. duck - would we mind chicken instead ,
whitebait = would we mind extra calamari instead, the sharing platter had no sausage etc. We agreed to have the substitutes but alas, when the dishes came they were beige in both colour and flavour and just thrown on to the plates.
To my horror, as we started to eat a lad entered the restaurant with a stepladder and commenced to repaint all the blackboards. Then the kitchen spray came out and a n other lad started to clean the grease from the cooker hood. He made a very good job of it but the fumes from his cleaning products were not conducive to us eating our meals. The bins were then emptied, and the kitchen and waiting staff commenced to take all the food down to the cellar knocking my chair each time they passed. To cap it all, two portions of garlic bread, three main courses and three sharing dishes, desserts and a couple of rounds to drink came to £153.00 which we paid and we left.
Perhaps Zizzi should close their doors to customers on a Sunday evening as they have obviously been busy enough to run out of half the frozen ingredients they serve - then they could deep clean to their hearts content without upsetting the people who pay for their wages!
We left, very disappointed at 8.50pm. We will not return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Perfect for light lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Had the new fritto misto to share an a light pizza with mozzarella di bufala; both were very good. Would certainly return. Exceptionally good value an service was very good too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Tunbridge Wells also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Zizzi - Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing