We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special”
Review of The Warren

The Warren
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 7/19
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Restaurant details
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

this place is really something - the food is an experience, people are lovely and interesting wine list with plenty of choice at different price points. A definite must-visit if you're looking for a meal in Tunbridge Wells

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank 66X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 362 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2019

Fantastic food and service from Magdalena and the team at The Warren. Thank you for looking after our party so well!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JulieSchipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Wow.... superb, faultless.

My sons brought me here for my 50th and don’t think they could have chosen any better. Food phenomenal, service impeccable. Chefs do this restaurant proud.

If you like beautifully presented and locally produced food you must try The Warren. Thank you to Magda, Olivier and Nancy for making it extra special, not forgetting the talented pianist. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank malakiebutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Have been here several times before and went again last night as part of my birthday celebrations. As always the meal itself was beautiful and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. I always enjoy my visits here. The restaurant itself is above a row of shops in the High Street, up a steep flight of stairs, therefore it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. If you have any specific dietary requirements I would suggest calling the restaurant ahead of visiting and I know they will do their best to accommodate these.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Magda and her team went above and beyond for my mother’s funeral wake.
The food and drink was absolutely exquisite. The team also arranged the layout of restaurant ahead of the day to make the most of the beautiful space - in particular the elegant orangery was cleared of tables to ensure family and friends could circulate easily to share memories of my mother.
Staff were very sensitive to the occasion and extremely attentive to the guests - offering refreshments and canapés at regular intervals without being intrusive.
I could not recommend The Warren highly enough, the ambience and catering was just right, making the occasion a very happy one and enabling us to celebrate my mother’s life.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank B4488BArebeccal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warren also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing