We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Meal”
Review of The Warren

The Warren
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Restaurant details
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Have been here several times before and went again last night as part of my birthday celebrations. As always the meal itself was beautiful and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. I always enjoy my visits here. The restaurant itself is above a row of shops in the High Street, up a steep flight of stairs, therefore it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. If you have any specific dietary requirements I would suggest calling the restaurant ahead of visiting and I know they will do their best to accommodate these.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 362 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Magda and her team went above and beyond for my mother’s funeral wake.
The food and drink was absolutely exquisite. The team also arranged the layout of restaurant ahead of the day to make the most of the beautiful space - in particular the elegant orangery was cleared of tables to ensure family and friends could circulate easily to share memories of my mother.
Staff were very sensitive to the occasion and extremely attentive to the guests - offering refreshments and canapés at regular intervals without being intrusive.
I could not recommend The Warren highly enough, the ambience and catering was just right, making the occasion a very happy one and enabling us to celebrate my mother’s life.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank B4488BArebeccal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

My wife and I went here for dinner a couple of weeks ago, in celebration of our wedding anniversary. It's in an interesting location up a flight of stairs (Havana-style) on the first floor, over a shop, with large orangery-style windows over-looking the top end of the High Street and Tunbridge Wells railway station. We chose not to have a drink at the little bar area, in favour of being shown to our table, which unfortunately was out back by the toilets and not in the preferred main front area with its outlook. With regard to the ambience of the place, the decor is quite plain, albeit they have tried to make things interesting with a mishmash of antiquities around the place. Somehow it lacks 'identity'. The 'beef dripping butter' we had with bread, while we ordered, was not as good as it sounds and the bread & butter offerings, varied from table to table, without choice. The menu was very restrictive we thought, lacking choice with only 5 or 6 starters and mains each, two each of which might have been vegetarian options. Okay you got a 'complimentary' amuse-bouche but the food was expensive with starters around the £10 mark and most mains approaching £30 by the time you'd added a side dish. That said the food was nicely presented, had a couple of unusual 'gamey' choices and was generally tasty, although the 'salt-baked beetroot' starter that my wife had was not to our tastes. The French sommelier seemed like a nice chap helping our neighbours order wine by the bottle, but he rather ignored us, perhaps as we only went by the glass. The waiting staff were adequate but rather lacked finesse given that this aims to be a high-end restaurant. We're glad to have tried it but won't rush back.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TobCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We discovered The Warren purely by chance when visiting Tunbridge Wells and what a find. The really quirky dining area is located up a set of stairs away from the busy street and the kitchen uses fresh, seasonal, local produce to create amazing dishes and the various menus offer lots of choice as does the wine list.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SUEPYRMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

My son booked here to treat me and food was superb. Unfortunately we were shown to a nice table and just got comfortable when we were told it was the wrong table and moved to a round table that was difficult to sit around due to the large table next to it. Very eclectic place with tables in all sorts of corners and nooks. The amuse bouche was good and was a small fishcake, we chose two starters of crab which was delicious and a scallop starter and followed by the roast beef with amazing Yorkshire pudding and potatoes and selection of vegetables. Dessert was treacle tart and then followed macarons and coffee. Lovely touch: every mother was given a small bottle of Prosecco to take home. Great food, strange staff, over positive, kept coming and saying ‘it’s good?’ Instead of ‘ how is your meal?’ It felt quite aggressive! Otherwise, a lovely lunch.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warren also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing