We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of The Warren

The Warren
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Restaurant details
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We ate at The Warren last night and it was definitely another memorable experience in every positive way possible. We always start with the best ever Champagne Cocktail in the cosy bar while looking at the menu - a must. Dinner was perfect..following the homemade bread and Amuse Bouche there was Chicken Liver Parfait with crispy chicken skin and toasted brioche for me, followed by the tastiest ever Guinea Fowl with polenta and a scummy Sicilian Lemon dessert... We let Olivier pick our wine for us and he chose perfectly- Picpoul with the starter and a Portuguese red with the main which was delicious. Espresso Martinis to finish with very tasty petit fours. The restaurant was buzzing - we sat in the conservatory and the atmosphere was great. The last to leave as always (sorry!), but already looking forward to our next meal there. We love the tradition, the pianist, the friendly service the locally sourced food which is seasonal and so fresh and well put together.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Reddy22_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

It's always a pleasure to have you and your husband dine with us, and true to form you were the last to leave - but we take responsibility for that in joining you for the Espresso Martinis....

Our Spring menu has been very popular and we rolled out a true classic this weekend Pig Trotters Pierre Kaufman, we sold out by 8pm and the other dish that sold well this weekend was the Crayfish Ravioli, dived (under licence) by one of our own too. The Guinea Fowl you enjoyed came from our 'Spring Taster Menu' the Byaldi (very intense Italian finely diced ratatouille) skin makes this dish sublime.

We look forward to seeing you both again very soon and thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we value all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 363 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2018

Great service, made my partner feel like a million dollars for her birthday. Staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant itself is a lovely place to be, the piano music adding to the ambience. Food was really great as you'd expect.

Will be eating here again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We aim to make all our guests feel like a million dollars and we're delighted your partner left us feeling this way. We enjoy being a bit quirky and being independently owned allows us to be just that. Our pianists are very popular and add a certain magic for our diners. We'd love to welcome you back very soon. Chef Raul Savi changes our menu almost daily, to ensure we use the freshest ingredients possible. Please visit our website and sign up to our mailing list to receive our latest offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

My daughter and i had a fabulous dinner here. All courses were wonderful, but my particular favourite was lobster tail souffle, simply sumptuous. The side orders also compliment the dishes very well. We were full by the end of the main, but i always think you have another stomach for desert! We decided to share a rich chocolate truffle, with popcorn, and other garnishes, lovely mixture, nice to try something different. The Warren has a very nice atmosphere, and lots of different area's for seating, all in all a great foodie asset to Tumbridge Wells.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate all feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us recently. The Lobster Tail Souffle proved to be a very popular dish indeed. Raul Savi and his Brigade craft menus to be playful but always allow the ingredients to speak for themselves. We're busy putting together some great offers for Spring and Summer, to ensure you are notified of these, please visit our website and sign up to our mailing list. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

Lovely food, staff and surroundings. Historical building and on the first floor so no wheelchair access.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate all feedback. We are located on the first floor which enables us to have the only Terrace on the High Street, but this regrettably does restrict access for disabled customers and those in Wheelchairs. We do hope you and your family and friends are able to join us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful dinner thank you very much...Amazing experience, can't wait to come back ..I come from Brighton just to have dinner here and I will come back soon

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 14carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Now that's what we call loyal - and we thank you for your custom. We are working up some spectacular Summer offers and if you like Jazz be sure to come and join us for Lunch on the 2nd June. With Summer (fingers crossed) on the way, we're replacing our regular Saturday and Sunday lunch menus with Brunch or BBQ - depending on the weather. Join our mailing list via our website and you'll be the first to receive our very best offers. We believe in rewarding loyalty, so see you very soon; and drive safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warren also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing