We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and inviting interior with views of the town we received a very warm welcome from the friendly”
Review of The Warren

The Warren
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Restaurant details
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

We received a very warm welcome from the chatty owner. The interior is inviting and interesting and a little quirky and has a couple of diverent areas to sit in each giving a different feel. If you choose the conservatory on the first floor you also get views of the town, otherwise you can chose to sit by the open fire in the thrones.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 587chrisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, General Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Dear 587chrisz


Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. Your lovely words will be passed on to all the staff and we very much look forward to seeing you again.


Kind Regards

Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2017

We have now eaten here on three occasions, the last being Christmas Eve and none of the meals have disappointed.

First of all, don't be put off by the plain entrance, which leads straight up a flight of stairs. The restaurant is divided into a number of separate dining rooms, a small reception area, a bar and there a baby grand piano in the central lobby. A resident pianist plays at weekends. Each room is decorated in a slightly quirky style with the lofty main dining room having large windows overlooking Tunbridge Wells High Street, where you can watch the world (and even the occasional fox) go by.

The owners and staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive, with prompt but unhurried service.

Food is prepared and presented to a very high standard. According to availability, meats are sourced from the associated Crowborough Warren Estate and Sussex cheeses from the nearby High Weald Dairy in Horsted Keynes.

This is an exceptional restaurant and worth trying on any special occasion.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllonsEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, General Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Dear AllosonEU


Thank you for your glowing review of our restaurant. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all staff and we very much look forward to seeing you soon.


Kind Regards


Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Fantastic selection and good price on pies. Game, chicken, beef, port, fish....Taste was also very nice.
I am not sure about the decor of the restaurant, it is quite quirky, a mixture of styles I guess.
Tables are also small/intimate. But the stuff is friendly and smiley and polite, the food is lovely and drinks were good too. I'd say try it on their special pie nights and for Sunday roast - yum!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, General Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Dear Lena M

Customer feedback is very important to us here at The Warren and your comments are very much appreciated. We very much look forward to seeing you on another occasion.

Kind Regards


Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were offered a table by the fire as it was such a cold evening.

The food prices are on the high side but what we received was of very good quality and cooked to perfection.

There was live piano music beautifully played in the background. We would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Polly917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, General Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Dear Polly917


Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're so happy you had such a wonderful experience with us here at The Warren.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.


Kind Regards


Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Eight of us went here just before Christmas. Everything was most enjoyable until it came to ordering our main meal. For 6 the experience was fine for the 2 of us who wanted the lamb it was not. When asked how we would like our lamb cooked we both said medium well. We were told that chef couldn't do this. He could only do rare or well done. We both ordered well done and it came up more or less inedible. As we can all work out, if chef can do rare and well done he can do anything in-between. Seems to me that chef wanted to tell us how we like our food cooked. Perhaps chef would like to pay the bill as well! Other than this, we hade a very enjoyable evening and the rest of the food and service was first class.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveThornbriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Restaurant, General Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Dear SteveThornbriar


Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We would like to look in to your comments thoroughly so if you could contact us regarding the date of your visit and time that would be very much appreciated.


Kind Regards

Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warren also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing