We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toby Carvery Thanet

Toby Carvery Thanet
Ranked #13 of 194 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Thanet. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Margate’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Although being a Saturday night, our wait was no longer than 15 mins, giving us time to have a drink before being seated. All staff very friendly, never had a bad visit. The restaurant was clean and tidy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to leave us your review following your visit. We're pleased the team and the food were on top form for you. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    192
    96
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE MEAL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Toby at Westwood Cross is usually busy at lunchtime, to avoid a 30 mins wait we go around 1.45pm. On our last visit on 3rd July shown to our table straight away by very friendly server, ordered drinks which took a long time to arrive. No long queue at The Carvery counter and food up to usual good standards. For a price of £6.29 this is exceptional value. Our Puds were delicious too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for leaving your review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Toby fan but this place a real letdown.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Always choose a Toby for preference and never dissapointed untill now. Main complaint was that dishes were not cleared away for 20 Min in the pub area whilst we waited for a table. The surrounding area was dirty - food on floor etc. When we did get a table service was slow with 10 min wait before ordering drinks. The gents toilet facilities were DISGUSTING. Toitet paper and urine on floor with associated smells. Obviously not cleaned for some time. Reported but no action.
Accepted the pub was busy but sadly no excuse for poor service and cleanliness. Let's hope this is a one off!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wengenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your complaints following your visit to Toby Carvery Thanet. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us to achieve this result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have eaten here a handful of times now and I have no complaints. Personally I prefer going for lunch during the week when it isn't so crowded - there can be a waiting time for tables of 30 minutes or so at busier times. There is a menu with a small selection of meals to choose from, however, it's raison d'etre is the roast dinner. Usually a choice of three meats (beef, pork and turkey seem to be popular) and then as much veg as you can fit on your plate!! It's a hearty meal and really quite tasty. The roast potatoes aren't quite done the way I like them but hey, I'm just being picky!!! It's a fine way of spending some time with family/friends while enjoying a meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Toby Carvery Thanet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Cheap, but next time would have just veg and trimmings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ate at the Toby Carvery at our 9 year old's request for his birthday meal. We all chose the carvery, as there really isn't anything else on offer (just carvery meat in a bap or with a salad) unless you want to go for a veggie option.
There was a long queue for the carvery, and because of how the interior is laid out, you can end queuing by other people's tables, which isn't very nice. We could see people walking back past with plates groaning under the weight of food - some with extra large plates piled high!
When it was our turn, we had the choice of 4 meats. The most appetising-looking were the beef and turkey. My son had the turkey, and I had the beef (the pork looked dry and the gammon just looked like it had been sitting there for hours, even though it probably hadn't. I had to stop the carver from putting too much meat on my plate, but some people in front of us had all four meats and asked for more of some. There was a bowl of overdone crackling positioned in front of the meat. (We tried it, it was tasteless and overdone.)
Good selection of veg (peas, carrots, beans, cabbage, cauliflower cheese), roast or mashed potatoes, and huge Yorkshire puddings. A choice of gravies and sauces were on the side.
So, what was the food like? Well, the 'highlight' was the veg and trimmings. I'd have gladly not had the meat as my beef was quite fatty, despite looking nice when carved. Decent Yorkshire, so-so mash (the roast potatoes were NOT nice in any way), delicious gravy. Veg was OK.
We had puddings - the plum frangipane was delicious, but I was disappointed that my son's ice cream was cheap Mr Whippy-style ice cream, which he didn't eat as he didn't like it.
Service was decent and the staff were very friendly.
You get a cheap and plentiful meal at the Toby Carvery (£65 for 7 of us is amazing value), BUT, you only need to take a look at people shovelling obscene amounts of food down their throats without seemingly even tasting it, to work out that this is just pile-it-high over quality. There were also an inordinately large number of extremely overweight people there, and if you can get an almost unlimited amount of food for next to nothing, you can see why. My mother-in-law told me that the last time she ate here, she sat at a table next to a family who's primary age child had a supersized platter, and who went back up, not only for seconds, but thirds. I do think they should limit the amount of food, as it was just obscene how much people were taking. I don't know if it was worse seeing people over eat or people leaving perfectly decent food on their plates. It's wasteful and unnecessarily. For this reason I cannot give it more than a three for value, as unnecessarily large portions does not equal good value. It just equals greed. The quality of the food is average, but no better than that. OK as a one-off, but I won't be beating a hasty path back to the Toby Carvery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank exiguusmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your visit to Toby Carvery Thanet and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Thanet also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Toby Carvery Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing