We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Good Roasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toby Carvery Thanet

Toby Carvery Thanet
Ranked #13 of 194 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Thanet. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Margate’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Folkestone
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Four Good Roasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visited Toby Carvery Thanet on a Monday at 6.45 pm. It was not busy so we were seated immediately. Our waitress took our drinks order straight away. We were given a very good sized portion of our chosen roasts. There was a wide choice of vegetables. Our ice-creams were very tasty..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    192
    96
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Not as tasty as last visits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have lived in this area a for 15 years and visited here on many occasions, This time the food wasn't as tasty as it usually is...Very bland, sweets are quite expensive for what they are! shame as its a nice venue and staff are really nice and helpful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disapointing Breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visited Toby Carvery Thanet for breakfast today arrived 09:10 just after opening. Plates were stone cold and so was most of the food. Although the breakfast is good value the drinks have to be paid for separately even juices have to be purchased from the bar. This is not the first time I have been disappointed with the breakfast here so we will definitely not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ricaro14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Came up here recently was told it would be and hour wait which we thought was ok considering it was very busy and gave us time to catch up when it came round to us being seated that was fine but our server was quite rude and wasn't very helpful ended up asking another server for drinks as was waiting for so long but I must say the food there was amazing the turkey and gammon I had just melted in my mouth best roast dinner I have had by far. So don't be put off by the servers or the waiting time it is well worth the wait

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I visited Toby Carvery for breakfast. The selection was good and tasted really nice. Therefore I would recommend this restaurant to families.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisykate2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Thanet also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Toby Carvery Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing