We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TOP TOBY”

Toby Carvery Thanet
Reserve with OpenTable
Toby Carvery Thanet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 203 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Thanet. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Margate’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It does more than it says on the roasting tin. We made another effort today to go over and have lunch there. Always worth the journey. The place was very busy, but very calm with it. Food is top notch and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. What more can you ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear Tony

Thank you for your fantastic review! I'm glad to hear you enjoy visiting us.
Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Josh
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 630 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been to the Toby Carvery a few times and find it very pleasant, friendly and a lovely meal at very reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear June,

Thank you for your fantastic review!
Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Josh
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I’ve eaten here on several occasions over the past 5 years and generally the standard is consistently “fair”.

The carvery food is generally luke-warm and the service friendly but slow (owing to too few staff and too many customers. However the place does offer relatively good value for money.
My last visit was top notch – there appeared to be more staff who were eager to assist, smiley and friendly. Although full, there was not a long wait for the carvery and the food was all fresh and piping hot. The staff were wearing new uniforms and the restaurant seemed to have had a mini facelift.

The meat was tender, and the roast potatoes really well done – heaven! I’ll be back again after I had started to lose faith in this place a little!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenjaminCT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. Great to hear you will be coming back.
Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards
Josh
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We often go to this restaurant if we go shopping down this way. The food is always excellent, the restaurant has always been calm, and the staff helpful. My only gripe is that the handles of the serving equipment can get very hot. Its definatly something to remember! I really like this restaurant and their breakfasts are amazing as well as the carvery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for your excellent rating of five stars!
Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards
Josh
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Its not worth cooking Sunday lunch with this gem round the corner. Food is great, lots of choice of veg as well as meat and service is usually good. Queues can be long so try to avoid the busiest periods, but either way its worth the wait. Great desserts too but we never have any room!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear Paula

Thank you for your excellent review.
Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards
Josh
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Thanet also viewed

 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Toby Carvery Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing