We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality carvery”

Toby Carvery Thanet
Reserve with OpenTable
Toby Carvery Thanet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 196 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Thanet. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Margate’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good quality carvery”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Turned up on a busy afternoon and only had to wait 30mins which gave us time to stand at the bar and order some drinks.
The decor is of the standard gastropub style which was ok and the service was good.
The queue for the food is unusual and we stood for around 10 mins waiting for our turn but in return you do get a good quality carvery which you help yourself to the veg!
For the real hungry eaters you can upgrade to the kingsize (£11 on a Sunday) which is of mammoth proportions!!
All in all good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeordieMaggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving us some great feedback. We have since had a refurbishment and the restaurant looks a lot more up to date.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Steve Bull
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    207
    103
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, England.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The carvery was busy when we arrived at around 8pm which I took to be a good sign but we were given a table straight away. The food was really fresh and tasty with a varied choice at the carvery. We found the staff helpful and friendly and the meals were good value for money.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angshwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Ang

Thank you for leaving us some great feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Steve Bull
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A good place to go if you fancy a roast dinner.It can get very busy in the holidays and you have to queue up for your meal, school dinner style which I personally hate, but the food is always ok and the decor is of a good standered.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Donna

Thank you for leaving us some great feedback, you can now book which eliminates the need to wait. Please check out our website for more details.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Steve Bull
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“birthday breakfast”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

first visit for breakfast - more like a creche and had to stand waititng for food service area to be refreshed. drinks order not complete after 2 requests [it was only 1 tea 1 coffee and 2 orange juice].
Would go again though to compare

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving us some feedback, our breakfast system has changed slightly since this visit and It is a lot more efficient.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Steve Bull
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
507 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I called in for a pint as was staying at the nearby Travelodge. It was towards the end of service on a damp and dismal Sunday and, sadly, this seemed to be reflected in the staff.
Many were flitting around but only 1 appeared to be able to serve at the bar. It felt like I waited longer to get served with my 2 pints than it did to actually drink them!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PARIS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thanet, responded to this review, March 26, 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving us some feedback. We are always overlooking our service cycle and hope you can come and give us another go should you be down this way.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Steve Bull
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Thanet also viewed

 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Toby Carvery Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing