We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round experience”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent all round experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed in this hotel regularly. Staff are great, very polite and friendly. Really good value and location. It can be a bit noisy at night but that's just due to the lively location. Not a problem for me at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroupCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
68
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Bearing in mind I have lived next door to a nightclub for twenty five years in central London, which is opposite Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, complete with screaming sirens from ambulances, police cars and fire engines at all hours of the day and night AND on one of London's busiest roads (Fulham Road). So for me to complain somewhere is ridiculously noisy really must give you some idea of how appalling this place is! The room was clean, very small but okay for one night (thank god!) but NEVER AGAIN, more like a nightclub with rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The hotel is clean, functional, staff are friendly and courteous, so no complaints there. However, I wouldn't recommend staying at this particular hotel at the weekend if you want to get some sleep at night, as it's located by some rowdy bars that don't stop playing music until the early hours of the morning so a sleepless night was had by my partner and me. The best thing about Ramsgate for me is a restaurant called Bon Appetit on Westcliff Arcade and is the only reason I make return visits to the area lol

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLady_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I have stayed at the Oak Hotel three times now. The location is unbeatable, I always get a Superior View Room which overlook the harbor. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and well kept. The view of the harbor is fantastic. It can be a bit noisy on weekend nights with the party crowd walking by outside, but it's not too bad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Overall, the hotel was a disappointment. We paid for a superior room with a view of the harbour and whilst the room overlooked the harbour, it was cramped and old fashioned.
There was only room for one bedside cabinet, the bed was small and there was only one chair as there was no room for any more furniture.
The hotel was supposed to have been refurbished, this did not show at all.
The bathroom had many different patterns of tile and the pointing fell out behind the bath whilst we were in occupation.
The hotel is situated in what must be the centre for young people in Ramsgate, the noise outside went on at a high level until the early hours both Friday and Saturday, even though this was the middle of January and the weather was awful! (I would not like to occupy this room on a warm summer weekend!)
The receptionist was welcoming and helpful, as were the staff at breakfast.
We ate in the Atlantis fish restaurant on Friday evening and the meal there was excellent.
Breakfast was fine, but we also had lunch in the hotel bar on Saturday, this was poor and I would not recommend this food to anyone.
There is no lift and there are many flights of stairs to the upper rooms, fit customers only should consider this hotel.
Ageing, in need of attention, noisy situation, expensive for what it offers. Only redeemed by the frieldly and willing staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed two nights and attended a family wedding at the hotel. Our whole party took up 7 rooms. We were very happy with the room, especially the bathroom with the luxury of bath and shower. The Tiffany Suite was perfect for a wedding reception and the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately they let themselves down with the breakfast - the menu item I wanted was not available on either of the two mornings. On the first morning, I was offered an alternative, then told they didn't have that either, but someone had gone to get some. It never materialised and still hadn't by the next morning! So no breakfast for me even though I had effectively paid for it in the room rate, and no discount offered either. But the buffet provided at the wedding reception was very good. Our thanks to Bill, the manager, and his staff for everything they did for us.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnrichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My partner and I made a last minute booking for the weekend.We found the hotel very clean and the staff were all very friendly.We ate dinner in the Atlantis Restaurant and thought the food was amazing,as was breakfast the following morning.I would 100% recommend people to this hotel,our room,the location,the food and the staff were all great!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
#6 of 10 in Ramsgate
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing