We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,great location”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Have stayed in the oak on many occassion, and will be there again at easter.A beautful location on the harbour front only minutes from a huge lovely beach. The rooms can be fairly tight spacewise, but are very clean, as are the en suites. We have always found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The bar area is nice and spacious with a good selection of drinks and a good well priced bar menu. The breakfast here is very good with a good selection of food to get your day going.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be a little noisy because of nearby late night bars in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, General Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are always happy when customers rebook and use our facilities repeatedly.

We are fortunate to have lovely views of the Royal Marina and to be minutes away from an award-wining beach.

We do offer a range of rooms, some of which are smaller in size and less in price, we do have more spacious rooms available if requested, our reception team are always happy to discuss room requirements.

We are very proud of our locally served food, drink offering, and receive many good comments regarding our breakfasts.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Kind Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

After checking the location and reviews I knew weekend party noise was a problem. I was delighted when a member of the hotel rang after booking to point out that my room was on the front and it would be noisy.

Our room was spotless and had a lovely view of the harbour. The reception staff were wonderful and were a treasure. Breakfast was fantastic but dinner in the Atlantis was average possibly let down by a chef who didn't plan.

We really enjoyed our stay but yes, it was noisy,noisy,noisy at the front. If you are staying at weekend request a room at the back

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdavies757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, General Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but I am disappointed that you found your meal in Atlantis to be average.

We pride ourselves on serving quality fresh local food in both our kitchens, when speaking to you on check out you mentioned you felt that the crab & smoked salmon terrine was too cold, you suggested the chefs should have removed it from the fridge earlier.

After speaking with the head chef, unfortunately due to the kitchens being a hot environment this would be a risk to food hygiene, therefore this particular dish needs to be served at a cold temperature.

We are pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here last summer! I am disabled and I need extra pillows! When I confirmed the booking I was assured there would be more pillows in my allocated room!
When we checked in! I ask the girl at reception about the pillows, I was told that the room had been let! Then we was asked for full payment, this must be the only hotel that takes the payment up front!

The room was ok! It was clean a bit on the small side! The main problem we had was being kept a wake for most of the night be the fridges humming all night long!

We also found some of the staff quite rude to the point of being arrogant!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you for you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am disappointed to hear you did not have a satisfactory stay with us.

I ask you to contact the hotel to discuss further the matter of your check in.
We allocate rooms on the day of arrival unless guests request for example a first floor room or one with a bath. You comment at check in you had been told the room had been let, I am concerned to know if you were allocated to higher floor as a result of not being allocated the room you specifically requested in advance If this is the case the matter will be taken up with the reception team & please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.


We do have a comment section that we use often to provide the housekeeping time with extra information that is relevant to the guests requests, Please accept my apologies if we had not placed extra pillows in the room before your arrival this may have been an oversight by the housekeeping team. We have now taken action to highlight in colour these comment boxes on the housekeeping sheet to help bring the information to their attention. Whilst I appreciate, you had taken the time to ask in advance, A member of the reception team would have been more than happy to assist in providing you with extra pillows on the day.

Concerning payment, each hotel has their individual policies with taking payment. After reviewing our system and looking closely at other policies, we amended our system to take payment at the time of check in, or a pre authorisation to allow guests to post items to their personal bills

With regards to the staff being rude, I was very staggered to read this comment. We often receive on a daily basis very good feedback from guests commenting on the friendliness of the hotel staff. All staff are currently taking CPL training in numerous certificated courses one of those being customer service, to help all staff maintain top service at all times.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

please, please,please don't listen to the last review !

can't fault this hotel, me & my partner booked in on 16th feb. the food at the Atlantis restaurant was fantastic. we had lunch plus our all our evening meals there for the whole of our stay(Delicious). plus the prices for the food was very reasonable,

reception staff, bar staff, restaurant staff, were all very helpful & friendly.

1: room with harbour view (perfect)

2: lovely, modern bar (relaxing)

3: atlantis restaurant (Delicious food)


well definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Wow thank you for your superb review.

It gives us great pleasure to read your kind words & even more pleasure in knowing you had an enjoyable stay here with us at the hotel. Our head chef in Atlantis especially will be pleased to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We thought the hotel looked idilic, the harbour setting etc...we were very disappointed. When we arrived we were asked where we had parked and we told them had parked in the pay and display the receptionist then told us we could have parked for free on the side of the road there was no mention of this in the advert, we were glad we did'nt. Our room was Superior executive deluxe...compared to Premier in it was standard. The bed was small and hard. The carpet and decorations were old and tired despite the 'recent upgrade'. The windows were filthy. The only deluxe thing was the towels very good quality but not enough to shower and wash your hair with The complimentry refreshment tray was well stocked with good quality tea and coffee. The breakfast was well cooked and tasted lovely but the staff on duty were poorly trained and not particulary friendly.. We returned to the hotel at about midnight to find the lively nightclub next door, also not mentioned in the advertising...spilling out on to the street and did not close until 3am. glad we parked over the road. Definetly not one for the family or anyone wanting a quiet weedend away like we did. Lovely town and surrounding

Room Tip: phone and talk to staff before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

We are very fortunate to be situated in a beautiful & convenient spot. With good surroundings, but Due to the great location of the hotel, unfortunately we do not have a private car park. We do not advertise the on street parking as these spaces are limited and we cannot guarantee a space at the time of guest’s arrival. On our homepage, we do advertise the car park tickets for a multi storey that has situated a short walk away, however not on booking.com. After reading your review, we will now be changing the information to include recommendations to the multi storey parking.
We provide in all double or twin rooms, 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels and two face clothes. We feel this is an satisfactory amount of linen per day. The housekeeping team change these on a daily basis. Should guest require more, as per the notices in all rooms the reception team are always happy to assist in arranging more?
The comments about the window s will be passed onto the company director. The location of the hotel is by the sea therefore we do experience the salt and sandy ocean spray. We have a local company that clean the windows weekly & this is the first bad comment we have received about the windows. Nevertheless, this will be looked into & changes made.
After receiving constant feedback with regards the bars surrounding the hotel and noise, we now inform all guests when booking online or via the phone that again, due to the position, we are a busy seaside hotel at the weekend mainly, the sea views can be affected by the noise.
I will pass on your compliments to the kitchen team in relation to the good breakfast; however, I would be interested hearing in detail your feedback on the breakfast staff. We usually have 2 set dedicated members of the team serving breakfast to help give returning guests a constant regular friendly face.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel Sat 5th Nov 2011. Absolutely nothing to complain about, room very very clean, bed very very comfortable, breakfast fantastic, and staff very very friendley, helpful and welcoming. The view from my room was Ramsgate Harbour, beautiful at night. Pleanty of places to eat and drink, fish and chips 1.30 in the morning after an evening of drinking and speaking to the lovely locals. Great weekend. Gail, Maxine, Chris and Alan

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxinewinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Gail, Maxine, Chris & Alan, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. What a lovely review you have posted.

With pubs, bars, cafés & late night fish and chip shops all within walking distance, not forgetting the beach it certainly is a GREAT location. We are very privileged to have the stunning views here everyday on the front desk, and as you point out, of an evening Ramsgate harbour looks glorious, most certainly underrated in some cases.

We hope you keep us in mind should you return to Ramsgate again.

Take care.

Kind Regards

Hotel Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Agree with most posters - double check which room allocated with very helpful reception staff.Just returned from 2 night stay and because of TA reviews queried rooms and was shown one booked (would have been really noisy as cheapest avail) or 312 at other end of the hotel for a small supplement which was well worth paying.
The rooms can be very hot (it was 30 degrees last w/e) but fan supplied in room.
The rooms are big enough - the bathrooms and towels excellent - very good choice of tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc - nice big TV - comfy bed - and room kept very clean each day.
Overall a little expensive for Ramsgate but would stay again if offerred any specials.
nb - if booked direct with the hotel as opposed to some of the agencies they will often include breakfast.

Room Tip: if looking at the hotel from the front ensure you are not on the left hand side as close to the disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thank you for the review.

Here at the Oak Hotel we have a very prime location at the weekends, with local bars and pubs open until late we always inform guests at the time of booking, any sea facing rooms or some standard doubles (situated towards the side of the hotel) may be affected by the noise. This is something we have put in place at the start of the year due to feedback from our customers. We always action to the best of our abilities the comments we get come good or bad. Reception staff are always more than happy to discuss room types with guests/ customers to help meet their requirements.

We are in the process of having air con installed in the hotel to help keep rooms cooler in the summer (although we seemed to lack a summer this year). Once again this has been something previously commented & now we are in the early steps of resolving this.

Please feel free to forward your email address to us on reception: reception@oakhotel.co.uk and we will inform you of any special offers or rates we will be offering in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
334 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $77 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing