We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an excellent stay”
Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always an excellent stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed at the Pegwell Bay hotel for a number of years now and this really is a great place to go.

The rooms are always clean and tidy with everything you need for a visit, each room has a TV with Freeview, Tea and coffee etc.

The staff are always friendly and as helpful as you could wish.

The food for breakfast served in the hotel dining room overlooking the sea is excellent with a range of hot and cold options. The attached pub is great for a drink in the evening and the food is great, in fact this year was better than ever. There are also large screen TV's with Sky, fruit and quiz machines and a pool table.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words I am so pleased we continue to give great service.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for a leisure visit.
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    151
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
85
198
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was here with work last night. Room was really good with an excellent view. Food in the pub linked to the hotel was great, would consider coming back here for a non work trip. Only downside was that the only lift was broken.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review - its always good to hear from our regular guests.
I apologise for the lift not being available during your last stay. On this occasion a circuit board had to be replaced and this was en-route to us from Spain.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a lovely stay great location and all staff are excellent nothing is to much for them. Stayed twice before and look forword to staying again. Alan and Sue who are in charge really make you feel welcome for the minute that you arrive until you are going home a great couple.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Your comments are really appreciated.
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great views, lovely place, fantastic service. Close to Broadstairs, Sandwich and Deal which means fantastic towns and close to many great golf courses.

Next to the hotel is one of the finest pubs: Belle Vue Tavern. Kind people behind the bar, and the owner knows how to make guests feel at home.

All quality for money. Can't ask for more. Simply a great place to be around for a couple days.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ErwinMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your visit here and the surrounding area. I am pleased to report that we are hosting an increasing number of golfing parties.
Looking forward to your next visit
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely spot on the cliff with great views and easy walk (about 15 mins to centre of Ramsgate). Hotel was clean, comfortable etc and all staff really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and pub adjoining the hotel had good food and very friendly staff there also. Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It's a strange old place, that's for sure. An old miner's convalescent hospital with a tunnel under the road leading to a pub with spectacular sea views should make this a real character hotel, but instead it seems resigned to middle of the road wedding parties and 'functions'. The two tone green and ornate signage favoured by the Thorley Taverns group feels neither retro nor old - just old fashioned. And what's with a brown patterned carpet in 2014? This hotel is in desperate need of a facelift - just paint the outside cream and put oatmeal carpet inside and you'll probably get an extra star.

Having said all that, the room was fine, the bed comfy, the shower amazing (I want one like that at home) the breakfast scrumptious (and served by a really nice lady) and the views great. That balcony by the dining room is to die for, especially on an unseasonably sunny morning like today.

The hotel is attached to a pub but we went across the road and it was one of those 'Oh heck, how do we get out without looking rude' moments. A bunch of blokes and a pool table is not ideal when you have a 5 year old. Maybe if we'd gone via the tunnel there was a different dining room for guests, but no one told us. Instead we went to the Bellevue next door which was in a different league.

This morning I was left standing for 5 minutes (doesn't sound long, but count it) while a receptionist stared at a screen without acknowledging me. A simple "I won't be long" wouldn't have hurt.

Pegwell Bay is in that awkward slot where it has more character than a Premier Inn but not as much luxury as a country house hotel. £100 a room feels a lot for what we got and this hotel needs to work hard to justify such a high room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here this weekend as we had a dinner and dance at the Sir Stanley Grey on the Saturday evening.

The food and service was very good both in the pub and the hotel itself,

Rooms were small but clean and had everything you needed. Beds were comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, hot and had a good menu to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ramsgate
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Property: Pegwell Bay Hotel
Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing