We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

as a couple we have stayed at several hotels in major cities bin the uk, the pegwell, must be rated as one of te best we have stayed in, the hotel offered excellent value for money, staff were very helpful and friendly, we arrived late on a friday evening and discovered kitchen had closed at 9.00 pm but we were offered sandwiches or snack type food by the receptionist ensuring that we would not be left hungry.; the room - twin room with sea-view(room 304) was very roomy, well decorated and spotlessly clean, with very comfy beds extensive hospitality tray available in room ; the bathroom decorated to a very high standard with very large shower cubicle; shower was amazing, even better than my own shower at home, beautiful big fluffy towels await you after your shower. all in all a vey comfortable stay would definately stay there again.
for anyone with disabilities, there is a large carpark outsid the hotel, so not far to walk. in the hotel there is a lift big enough easily for a wheelchai; in the rooms themselves there are numerous electric sockets for charging electric items etc. windows are at such a height that view can be seen from wheelchair.
food in hotel: we booked for breakfast ; it was beautiful, cooked to order and very fresh, service in breakfast room excellent, as is the selection of breakfast foods/drinks.
for our evening meals: over both nights of our visit, we tried both pubs across the road from the pegwell, the'sir stanley' was average food ok, but i did find my food a little dry i had steak £14.00 and pepercorn sauce which was very thin and runny, but tasty after our 5 hour journey.
the second pub and next door to the 'sir stanley' was excellent the pub was called 'the belle vue' and the food was amazing served upstairs(no lift) in a lovely contemporary restaurant overlooking the bay. The food was very fresh cooked to order service was excellent and prices comparable to good restaurants at home approx £ 25 a head for two courses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    146
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
193
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for a family reunion and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel and the attention from the staff; they were so helpful and friendly. The delicious food offered real value for money. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Attended a small Conference at the Pegwell for 60plus people over two days. The arrangements were excellent and the food superb. The service was great and nothing was too much to make both the business and social events run smoothly. A great spot for either a business or pleasure trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view across the Bay, the sunsets are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a really pleasant place to stay. The room and bathroom were immaculate and the staff gave a warm and helpful welcome. A couple of good places to eat close by - we didn't have breakfast here as had an early start. However the staff offered us the opportunity to book something to eat early if we had wanted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjwoo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I were out on a early fall weekend - drove to the coast with no hotel reservation. Was told by another hotel (which was full) "oh, when it is a sunny Saturday, we are always full". Found the Pegwell quite by accident. Turned out to be lovely. Quite friendly staff - in fact, a bit over friendly. I really don't need "help" to my room (44 year old man, 1 small bag, nice women carrying by bag - just feels wrong). Spotlessly clean. In fact, the room felt like it had just been re-done. Great view of of the coast. The breakfast room has a stunning view. Quiet. Just great.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

we stayed in room 206 for two nights in sept 2012.The room was spacious, perfectly clean, huge bed! the only thing that i personally didnt like was the very thin quilt and the kettle took ages to boil. But everything else was spot on.we attended a wedding which was held at the hotel and we arrived early, but the room was ready for us. The wedding was perfect, the hotel staff were friendly, polite, proffesional and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was nice, not greasy and lots of choice.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week on a bowls holiday. The friendliness of the hotel & bar staff was excellent, the room had a sea view & had all facilities required. The breakfast was very good as was the evening meal, great menu selection in the bar across the road as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
20.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Property: Pegwell Bay Hotel
Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing