We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely.cosy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
canterbury kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely.cosy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

attended a friends wedding,lovely setting.food very good,hotel clean friendly,efficent.room very clean ,comfortable,nice bathrooms.very pleased overall would go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lismarlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with and hope a great day was had by all at the wedding. We hope to see you agin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    143
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
76
190
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

We enjoyed a comfortable stopover in this wonderfully positioned hotel with views over the moody and muddy flats of Pegwell and Richborough. We chose not to take breakfast in the hotel, preferring to eat al fresco in Ramsgate harbour - but the breakfast is served in an atmospheric dining room overlooking the sea which is intriguingly reached by a staircase that tunnels its way under the road. Our room and bathroom were of a generous size and the beds very comfortable. The reception team were cheerful, welcoming and helpful. I would recommend this hotel warmly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. (apologies for the delay in responding!)

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and are delighted that you found all of our staff to be welcoming and hepful. We would very much appreciate your recomendations to friends, and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We are regular visitors here as we have family nearby. Each time we stay we are not disappointed. This is one of our favourite hotels. It's not centrally situated but is in a lovely position overlooking the sea with some great walks - one way it is a 15-min cliff top walk to the town and in the other direction is a pretty walk to a nature reserve.

The rooms are all well equipped, clean and quiet. The public areas are also well presented and well kept. Plentiful parking. The staff are always polite and helpful.

The food at the pub over the way, the Sir Stanley Gray, is a nice place to eat - regular English type meals, roasts etc, no good if you are on a diet though!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
We do apologise for the delay in our response, but are very grateful for your kind comments.

We love to hear of our customers wanting to return and are pleased that you have found all of your stays with us pleasant.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Lovely friendly staff and a very interesting designed building with it's own tunnel under the road to the pub and dining rooms located down the cliff face. Good value, and clean and comfortable so it ticks all the boxes. It's not 5 star but thn neither is the price. Plenty of easy parking and a 15 minute stroll takes you into Ramsgate.
We ate in the hotel's own pub/restaurant and it was just fine. The pub itself is typically frayed around the edges but it's OK and the staff were all very freindly. Breakfast overlooks the bay and portions were great , so was the quality and service.
. Our only slight complaint was that the bed was a bit small for my 6'3" body - but that's because we are used to a bigger bed . Bathroom was well appointed and had a great walk in shower .
We'd stay again for an overnight stop over in the area. It's not perhaps a holiday hotel but as a comfy, clean, safe and freindly place to overnight, it does a good job

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GS_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Pegwell Bay Hotel is likely the best choice of hotels in the Ramsgate area. The staff members were helpful. The hotel was clean, comfortable and well-maintained.

If in the area again, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo28352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

8 of us stayed overnight for the newyears eve gala dinner, my son and new wife were married there in oct and we were made so welcome and had a lovely time we all decided to stay again for this night. we were all glad we did, it was nice knowing we didnt have far to go to bed at the end of the evening, the food was excellent, staff very pleasent and helpful. we had stayed in a hotel last year not far from this one but would say the food was nowhere near as nice and cost us more. would stay again if only for a short gettaway break. well done pegwell bay hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winniethepoohLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Thank you for your lovely coments we are please you all had a good time welcoming the New Year in with us!

Hopefully we will see you agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

we stayed at the hotel for one night could not fault anything, staff wonderfull and helpfull room spotless and tea and coffee in room bonus. Will stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackthehat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Property: Pegwell Bay Hotel
Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing