We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever received”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Hotel overlooks Ramsgate Harbour & stayed in a double room with balcony overlooking the harbour. Room was spotless & we had a coal fire in the room which was lit whenever we asked. Hotel so central we never had to use our car & there were some excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. One of the staff, David, recommended La Magnolia which was just a few minutes walk away & the food was excellent. All the staff were so helpful & friendly & the breakfasts which were freshly prepared were the best we have ever eaten. We shall return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraineblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Royal Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

My partner and I came to stay for the night at the Royal Harbour and we loved it so so much, we felt the need to review it here.

From the lovely staff, to the open fire, honesty bar, record player, breakfast cooked to order, the long list of wonderful aspects of this hotel goes on. If I were ever to own a hotel, this is what I would model it on.

I think the next hotel we will stay in will have a lot to live up to. I am trying to think of any excuse to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_eater31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We were warmly welcomed by David on arrival. The hotel is relaxing, informal with some nice touches such as open fires. We had a very pleasant stay. Excellent view of harbour from our room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridge32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed on New Years Day and were delighted with the hotel and staff.
Yes, the bedroom/bathroom is small, but it doesn't claim to be a Best Western or Premiere Inn! Friendly, welcoming and informal. Loved the quirkiness of the decor and the honesty bar was lovely touch. Central to amenities and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We were very much looking forward to going to the south east side that we brought our parents with us from Italy. We were not helped with the luggage and were instructed to climb up very many narrow staircases. The toilet had a really bad smell and the receptionist didn't offer to do anything about it. We complained and it took a family member to fix it! We were not introduced to every part - althought it is a very small hotel!

Felt lost at breakfast and were not given a menu or informed about my options, just asked very loudly about what I wanted cooked!

Very unfriendly staff who are not prepared to move from their desk to do anything!

There is NOTHING in the village, less than a mile stretch of a beautiful riviera and that's it! so pricing is VERY UNREALISTIC!

In all fairness, we enjoyed the fireplaces that were kept going only at night by the gentleman who seemed like he was the owner. We enjoyed the antiques and board games and the 1970'2 disc player in the tiny front room. If you must go, I recommend you to ask for room 4 only! it is the room on the promotion! But don't be misled!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmayahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I stayed at The Royal Harbour hotel last weekend (Saturday 11th Dec) and had a lovely time. I had booked the suite room for my partner and I and the room was amazing and the views were just spectacular. The staff were very informative and extremely friendly as soon as you arrive and that continues until you have checked out! The cheese and biscuits in the evening was defiantly the cherry on the cake! We thoroughly enjoyed ours and were allowed to eat it in the comfort of our bedroom, otherwise we could of stayed in the lovely front room by the open fire. I cannot fault one thing about this hotel and would defiantly recommend to anyone because you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxxxxLauraxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Royal Harbour as we were attending a wedding close by. We were also celebrating our wedding anniversary. The Hotel is absolutely gorgeous and has some really personal touches. Our Room (number 15) was pleasantly decorated with a wonderful door opening onto a small balcony with a view of the sea/harbour. The breakfast was wonderful with a fresh buffet and cooked breakfast. Staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. There were also a number of rooms where you can relax and read books in front of an open fire. We definitely plan to return at some point as we both thoroughly fell in love with the place!!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank paul_antoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
503 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $89 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing