We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I needed a one-night stay in Ramsgate, and opted for a sea view here, with balcony and four-poster bed. The view of the harbout and marina is a knock-out, with wonderful changes of light and the lively bustle of a working port providing endless interest from first thing in the morning. This is a lovely little hotel from which to see the sea, and it has many plus points: friendly staff and service, a very good breakfast (a slab of honeycomb is an unusual feature) and complementary cheese and biscuits and honesty bar, a very good range of books everywhere, including our room (Moliere's Tartuffe rubbed shoulders with Danielle Steel!), and lovely lounges for relaxation. It is also very handy for town centre and a pleasant arcade of restaurants is within five minutes' walk. The four-poster bed was very comfortable, there was a good coffee machine and towels were large, and rooms and corridors have a good range of mainly aquatic paintings. The atmosphere is good, and you can see the thought that has gone into everything. The flipside is perhaps minor, but somewhat intractable. The street is residential and parking spaces are like gold dust. And the rooms facing the sea were indeed distinctly 'cosy'. The sign over the bathroom door ('the smallest bathroom in the world') was whimsical but less ironic than we had hoped!).However, we were warmly received and very well looked after - and it was excellent value for money. Well worth considering, but decide whether exterior views or interior space matter more to you! Rooms at the back, we hear, are the ones for those seeking more space.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front for the magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTaylor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Short but to the point: I felt right at home while away from home. The best hotel experience ever. The rooms were very cosy and beautifully decorated, the staff very helpful and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natapangalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I know this word has been used in other reviews but it does best describe the hotel . I needed somewhere close to the Grange as was revisiting where I was at school many many years ago!!
The staff are second to none...very friendly and helpful. The room we had was on the top floor with a wonderful view of the harbour and wasn't exactly big but adequate as we don't spend a lot of time in their anyway and the beds were very comfy.
Lovely paintings /pictures all over with the sea as the theme and the lounges were all very cosy with open fires and interesting items
The breakfast was very good though weren't too many tables so there is a chance you might have to wait though we didn't.
Maybe the only criticism is I felt it was a bit pricey for what is in effect an elaborate B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 313Russ313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is hard to add to the previous reviews. This hotel is charming and the staff make you feel special, unlike corporate hotels. Yes our room (15) a front harbour view room with balcony was very small, but very well equipped. We even had a coffee machine which used our favourite Nespresso coffee pods, The ensuite was as previously described, annoyingly small. After an effective shower, you had to step outside to dry yourself as there was no room to move. Nothing was too much trouble for Jill, she was always very helpful and attentive. The complimentary cheeseboard in the evening was a nice touch. We ate out fairly early and looked forward to this when we returned. The restaurants nearest to the hotel were all very good. We had a four night break in the area, and because it is a long distance to travel, will be unlikely to go to the area again, but if we were I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Harbur view definitely, balcony did give a bit more space and was very pleasant to sit on when the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SjS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well you won't be surprised if you take the trouble to read all the previous reviews below or if I list here ALL the quirky (most oft used adjective) points of this hotel. So, I shall try to write a definitive review focussing on the impressive points (many) and the (slight) criticisms. First and foremost the staff, service and attention to detail. Even those things you may not expect them to be bothered about, it's 'no worries' all the way. Jill (Front of House Manager) has already had a few positive mentions from our reviewers, and they are not wrong. An example: she knew we were visiting Ramsgate to explore the work of the architect, Augustus Pugin, to see his home, churches and other buildings. Most thoughtfully she gave us a letter with details of a play 'Pugin' running at the local theatre at the time of our visit. Little things ... and yes, the breakfasts - no menu, just make up what you think you want to eat and they will surely cook it. Lots of surprises here, including a whole honeycomb from a farm in Suffolk, and a honey baked ham on the cold buffet together with sliced fresh pineapple, figs, raspberries, blackberries .... I could go on. Breakfast here had the best choices I've found in ANY hotel for a very long time.

There was a lovely aroma from wood fires in the sitting areas - we could have had one in our top of range double balconied first floor seaview bedroom, but the fine weather didn't merit it. The artwork festooning all the walls everywhere (except the bathrooms) must be of note; there is so much of it, and some is very good. An interesting, different, place to stay 'bed and breakfast' - no evening meal provision yet but I understand they are opening a restaurant in the basement later in the year. The marginal downside? Some of the rooms are quite 'cosy', and some on the higher floors not so easy to access for larger or less abled people. We stayed in the lovely, rather ambitiously named, Royal Harbour 'suite'. It has a fine harbour and sea view, a very comfortable well dressed bed with goose down quilt and pillows, an en-suite shower room - none of the rooms have baths - and fine china and fittings - especially excellent bed light fittings, were to be found. All this was quite expensive at £160 per night per room but it did include that fabulous breakfast! I'd say it was worth it.

Room Tip: Splash out and try to get the first floor front doubles, the 'suite' (Rm 4) is larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvanglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic location with extremely helpful staff . bedroom clean with excellent shower, breakfast choice unbelievable , cheese served after 9.30pm ,The property is filled with pictures and interesting items ,lovely sitting rooms on ground floor with log burning open fireplaces .Downside is narrow stairs, top floor can only be reached with the aid of a rope hand rail . A very homely and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a high room ,worth paying extra for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a change from the usual generic, corporate chains. The hotel had real character, with charming decor, very friendly staff and my room was very pleasant with a sea view. The downstairs lounge had an honesty bar and record player and very comfy sofas. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the choice plentiful. I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattEv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
515 reviews
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $66 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing