We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most professionaly run establishment.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most professionaly run establishment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place for a short stay. Brilliant staff, really good with children. Supurb food and a really nice location. It is a really well run place. Inside has some really nice artifacts and comfotable sitting areas both inside and outside. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian-kawaguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    270
    74
    32
    27
See reviews for
173
542
76
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed in a tiny single top floor sea view room. Loved the personal quirky decor and clean and comfy rooms. Considering how many rooms are squeezed in to this hotel I could not hear a thing in the night other than seagulls and the sea. They have thought of everything and the breakfast was really special in a delightfully decorated room adorned with art. This place felt like staying in a friends house .
Only one tiny negative a really lumpy and scratchy mattress cover that I had to take off the bed before going to sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms if you are faint hearted as the stairs are steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

stayed for one night in a family and was very pleasantly surprised by this excellent hotel. staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and the property was excellent. The hotel overlooks the harbour and most rooms have sea view (our family room did not, but i knew that before arriving). excellent breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel. I was in a small double room, but the quality of the bed, bedding and bathroom was very high.

Unlike a 'corporate' hotel the bedroom was was quite individual with a number of books in the room. There was also TV and good wifi, as well as tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary water.

There are several public rooms, with an honesty bar system. Breakfast was excellent. Service was superb throughout.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front obviously have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-upon-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Unfortunately we was unable to stay at this hotel, because of a booking error made by a booking company that told me they had vacancies when they didn't. The management were very helpful to find out what had gone wrong and to do there best to help us. It looked very clean and comfortable and I hope to visit again soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This Hotel is amazing. Ramsgate is a little faded from the glory days of Empire. But to still find a motel that does a great breakfast, has incredible views and such hard working and dedicated staff is very refreshing.

The restaurant strip is very close too.

It is a little pricey for the special rooms, but the view is worth it. We were lucky that no-one else had a car that needed to be parked (there is only one spot).

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with the view of the harbour. They cost more but the views are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked the Royal 'suite just for two nights and also a 'four poster room' both with balconies. At £225 and £160 per night respectively we thought these would be above average. Not so! Our daughter's room, supposedly a double, was the size of a postage stamp. One edge of the bed was wedged against the wall and barely room to pass on the remaining side. Our room was much larger but rather poorly furnished. At breakfast a table should have been laid for three but we had to wait whilst the table was laid (and were kept standing ). This happened the following morning too. The public areas were lovely (size and comfort anyway) with two sitting rooms and a pretty garden for the use of guests. What a shame that the rest of the hotel did not come up to standard. I also had the feeling that some Dickens' characters were alive and well and maybe working at the hotel?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentishmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing