We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped inside the door of the hotel we were given a very warm welcome by Jill. The whole ambiance of the hotel is snug and warm with an open fire blazing in the hearth and tea lights placed around the rooms inviting you to sit and relax. Our room was wonderful also with an open fire looking out over the harbour with a lovely balcony to sit out on in better weather. The four poster bed was very comfortable to sleep in so much so I didn't want to get up in the morning. Glad I did as breakfast was hearty and well worth getting out of bed for. It's all about the little touches, cheese and biscuits for supper, the honesty bar, I asked for sweeteners at breakfast and when I went up to my room later that day there was sweeteners put by the tea and coffee facilities in our room. So thoughtful. Thank you to Jill David and Richard for your attention to detail, we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were having building work at our house and decided it would be easier and quicker around if we moved out. I am so pleased we did because the 5 days we stayed at The Royal Harbour Hotel were just great. They took great care of us, from Gil the bubbly receptionist to David who manages the hotel. The room was warm, cosy and very clean. The breakfast was delicious with so much choice. The complementary cheese board was a delight in the evenings for a cheese lover like myself. The 3 sitting rooms with log fires were a real treat. We don’t live that far away but we will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The woman at reception was friendly and really helpful. The room was small but cosy and clean with a great view and the bed was comfy. Downstairs they have three sitting rooms with open fires where you can hang out and play records on the turntable if you want. There's an honesty bar (that could have been a little cheaper) so you can help yourself to a G&T or a glass of wine and just put your name in the book. Breakfast was great. There's a big selection of cereals, berries, cheese, meat and smoked salmon and you can order pretty much any cooked breakfast combo you want. Ours were both delicious. They serve breakfast from 7-1030 last orders on a Sunday so if you need to get away you can but there's plenty of time for a lie-in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very pleasant stay , lovely view over the harbour was worth paying the extra for it, superbly comfortable bed.
Staff lovely nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast better t6han the usual.
Will be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

this hotel is a gem in a fantastic location. It's original and unusual, packed full of paintings, and feels much loved. There are many thoughtful touches, such as hot water bottles and fresh honeycomb for breakfast - wonderful! The rooms are gorgeous and individual with really comfy beds. The staff were amazingly welcoming, despite our arrival just after a busy Xmas, when they could be forgiven for being jaded! we felt so well looked after, we immediately extended our stay for another night. Can't wait to return ASAP - hopefully to the suite, which has more character and charm than any hotel room I can remember. Thanks to all

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank christabel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel full of character. We had a double en suite room with sea view. Beautiful room, spotlessly clean & the view of the sea & harbour was stunning. The staff were so friendly & couldn't do enough for us. We really were made so welcome. The breakfast was superb, never had so much choice of wonderful food. The only downside was having to come home!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjoshbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had the most fantastic double room with a four poster withour own balcony looking out over Ramsgate harbour. The little touches of individulity were everywhere. It was a genuinely comfortabel room - a huge bed and lovely sofa. The balcony was lovely and with a beautiful open coal fire in the room. It was ready set for us and all we had to do was light the match. It menat that we coudl keep the window ajar at night (in December!) and we were still warm and cosy at the same time as hearing the faint rinfing of the ropes against mast on the yachts in the harbour - like mountan goats. At breakfast the hotel passed the good fresh coffee, excellent sausage and fresh tomato test with flying colous and there was a fantastic choice fo cold meats, smoked salmon, rye bread, pastries and cereals and eggs cooked anyway you liked. Add to this a help yourself honesty bar and walls covered in great and quirky pictures. Original and witty at every stage. W e had a great meal out too at the Royal harbour brasserie (no relation apparently!) on the end of the harbour arm. Staff were polite, obviously proud of their hotel and couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We had room no. 4. It couldn't have been better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
328 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $66 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing