We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
2 reviews
“Completely Delightful”
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This Hotel is absolutely amazing! I have never been moved to write a review before though I can thoroughly recommend the Royal Harbour. Everything about our stay was delightful - from the wonderful welcome by Philipe through to the gorgeous harbour views. That's not to mention the sumptious breakfast - everything you could possibly want from real honey to freshly cooked 'full english' and really good coffee.
I could wax lyrical about this place. The ambience is superb, the owner has managed to make this hotel very special indeed. A real fire, candles, beautiful artwork, books galore - you name it and they have it!
Thoroughly recommended - warm, friendly and everything you would expect from an independent hotel with a caring and stylish owner.
We shall definately be staying here again and we'll take some photos next time!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jayneebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2008
Thank you so much for waxing lyrical here..and appreciating all out touches. Kind regards James Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    283
    76
    33
    29
See reviews for
185
564
80
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

For me the joy of staying in independent hotels over chains is in the details, and this hotel has them in spades. From captivatingly quirky decor to the complimentary cheese board to the option of a hot water bottle to ease those cold business trip nights, this hotel gave the impression of genuinely wanting to make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. If you find yourself in the area on business or in search of some R&R I couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank imjustthemessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2008
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write. Greatly appreciated! And what can be nice than a hot water bottle at night! Kind regards James Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

This review is going to be long because I feel I should share the wonderfulnes of this hotel in full with you all!

We were going to Bruges for the weekend and catching the early ferry from Ramsgate so booked an overnight hotel.
The thing about this hotel is that you could very easily miss it as it's perched high above the harbour and not necessarily on the main road into Ramsgate.
When we arrived the ultra friendly owner, James I think, had put a hot water bottle in our bed - where else would you get that sort of luxury!! The room was ultra clean and comfortable with a wonderful balcony overlooking the harbour. Tea, coffee, water and biscuits in room.
When we first arrived we were asked whether we would like some cheeese and biscuits - a whole table laid out in the dining room full of loads of different cheeses, cookies, biscuits, noodles etc - all thrown in with the price. There were roaring fires, an honesty bar (In this day and age a real treat !), a gramaphone, LPs, loads and loads of books and a general feeling of homliness. It really felt as though the owners were pleased to entertain you as opposed to feeling like a nuisance as you do in many corporate hotels. Having said that, we were left entirely to our own devices; no clawing over attentivness; just old fashioned hospitality.
As the ferry was leaving before breakfast time, we were made a packed breakfast/lunch - again all included - of sandwiches (yum), fruit, water, pain au chocolate etc. By this time I knew we'd inadvertantly stumbled across a rarity - a hotel that actually gives a fig about their customers! We were so impressed that we booked it again as our return ferry was arriving late into Ramsgate so we didn't want to drive home.
Again, the hot water bottles, cheese and biscuits,etc.
Now to breakfast = where do I begin?? There were all the usuals; cereal, toast, preserves etc but then it became like a banquet - cooked ham, salmon, fruit salad arrived followed by the best cooked breakfast I've eaten in a hotel in a long time - couldn't move for a while!
The best thing is this hotel is not expensive - it's just a bunch of wonderfulness wrapped up in unpretensious loveliness.
If you're staying in Ramsgate DO NOT overlook this hotel - it's a truly great experience!
Thank you for restoring my faith in hoteliers!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eun1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2008
Well..where do I start...a huge thank you I suppose! just love one of the closing comments: 'it's just a bunch of wonderfulness wrapped up in unpretensious loveliness'...this makes everyone smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester kent
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was lovely-a four poster bed and an open fire. The weather was very cold so it was lovely to come back to a roaring fire in the room and hot water bottles in the bed. The view form the window over the marine was lovely.Watching the sun rise was great did not even have to get out of bed to see it.
The treat on the pillow for Valentines day was different. I will not say if they have been used or not. Friendly staff who work hard. Slight wait for table for breakfast but it was nice to sit in a sun filled room and read the Sunday papers.
Would go back again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank mclench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2008
Many thanks for writing and highlighting all the extra things which we think make our hotel fun and different...very glad you noticed your Valentine's pillow gift! As we mentioned it was more exciting than a chocolate on the pillow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Found this hotel randomly when looking for a quick getaway from London last weekend. We had a beautiful room with a great view, we loved the fact that someone had thought to give us a hot water bottle when we went out, loved the fact that they had an honesty bar, loved the fact that they had a record player with Derek & Clive LPs and just generally loved the place. I would recommend it very highly.

  • Liked — It felt like a one-off and that was lovely
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slicktony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2008
..and lovely guests! Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Delighted that you liked all our small touches! Kind regards James Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We had a fantastic time at this hotel. It catered for my three children with a cinema in the basement, which they thought was fab, and kept them amused while my husband and I enjoyed a relaxing drink by the open fire and socialised with the other guests. The breakfast was gorgeous which we ate looking out to sea over the harbour, and set us up well for a day of sight seeing. The staff were very helpful and friendly too. What more could you ask for in a hotel.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Becclesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2008
A great time had by all! Parents pleased..children entertained and happy guests! Kind regards James Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
305 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
686 reviews
4.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing