We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely hotel with stunning views over the harbour and a very friendly receptionist who went out of her way to help us. Great breakfast and beautiful interiors, full of old paintings, records and books.

The only thing I would have changed is the size of the bed, which was a smallish/standard double, as we're both quite tall, but it was still very comfortable! Hopefully will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a lovely hotel overlooking the harbour rooms have great sea views.
The rooms are small but have ensuite bathrooms and are clean tastfully decorated with comfy beds.
The hotel has wonderful interior decor which makes it feel you are in someones home not a bland corporate hotel,so you feel right at home.
The tv lounge is really comfy with a real fire and access to the nice courtyard garden and outside bar and seating. They give you free cheese pate and biscuits for supper nice touch. The breakfast is fantastic with a huge choice of cereals,pastries and cakes,cold meats, smoked salmon, fruit cocktails,honeycomb honey strawberries,yoghurts as well as a great English breakfast cooked fresh as you like it. The staff are all friendly. The hotel has an honesty bar. The only minus point is no lifts so difficult to access rooms with luggage. Fantastic little hotel will visit again.

Room Tip: lower floor better for access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYER30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a gem of a place - quite pricey but worth every penny. It has the most glorious view over Ramsgate Harbour. It's a busy little port and at night, the view is quite magical with the European ferries disappearing into the darkness and the glow from the lights on the boats coming and going in and out of the harbour. Room 4 is fab with a four poster bed and a real fire. The breakfasts are sumptuous - a huge buffet as well as anything you want cooked to order. There's usually a whole honeycomb laid out next to the jams and pastries and lovely fruit salads. There's even a nespresso machine in the bedroom!

The sitting room and dining room are stuffed with beautifully chosen paintings and another lovely touch is a pile of vinyl albums in the corner that you are encouraged to play on a stereo on the sideboard. There's a well stocked honesty bar and loads of books, mags and games on offer.There are shrimping nets in the hall. And every night a complimentary cheeseboard is laid out for the guests!

The atmosphere is utterly relaxing and welcoming and the staff can't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for Room 4 = wonderful bed and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sioned W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Before we even arrived at The Royal Harbour Hotel, I had received 3 welcoming emails rom Jill, the friendliest receptionist I have ever encountered in an English hotel. On arrival we were given the tour and made to feel at home - and special - all at once. What the room lacked in size (very very compact!) it made up for in abundant charm - the decor was tasteful & considered. We experienced all weathers in one day on our weekend in Ramsgate - even snow - but with 2 real log fires to snuggle up and sip wine beside, we were more than happy. The breakfast was fresh, varied and tasty - and after hours, there was a free cheeseboard to enjoy with a Port from the honesty bar. All in all, a memorable stay in a well positioned cosy hotel with a very personal touch.

Room Tip: Decide what's important to you - a bigger room with a tiny bathroom, or a smaller room with a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here just for the one night and I do wish we had stayed longer. Very nice welcome & given a little tour so we knew where the sitting rooms, dining room etc were & advised that after 9pm (ish) complimentary cheese and biscuits would be put out for all to tuck in! how often do you find that in a hotel. We arrived about 5pm, sat by a lovely open fire in the lounge area with tea and read the papers of which there was a great choice and the cups and tea pot were of a great design. (may sound petty to some but it all makes for a good experience and I notice & appreciate things like this. We had a pretty disastrous meal at a restaurant in Canterbury so when we got back were still quite hungry and sure enough there in the dining area was a great selection of cheeses and crackers which we enjoyed again by the fire with a drink from the honesty bar.

Very nice room but right at the top of the house so a bit of a climb. Paintings of every sort under the sun adorn every bit of wall at The Royal Harbour - there must be 1000s (not exaggerating!) but you know what? IT'S WONDERFUL and gives the place such a great and quirky point of difference. Our room was lovely, my only slight niggle was that there were no herbal teas only breakfast tea but thats a very minor thing. Fab shower and comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious with so much to choose from and like another reviewer the honey comb was a lovely touch. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast served by very nice staff.

All in all a wonderful place to stay with a helpful & friendly team. Well done and keep on doing what you're doing. You deserve to be ranked so highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in the Royal Harbour Suite, a lovely room on the first floor with wonderful views of the harbour, a cosy coal fire and a luxurious four-poster bed. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and were impressed by all the little touches like fresh flowers in our room. Breakfast was really tasty, with more nice touches like honeycomb straight from the hive. The lounge is quirky and fun, but comfortable and welcoming. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Never been to Ramsgate before, but we'll come again based on the quality of this hotel. Well appointed rooms, comfy beds, one of the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had and family friendly too. Very impressive!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
513 reviews
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $68 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing