We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The staff was super friendly and helpful. I was very warmly welcomed and any concerns or questions were quickly handled by the outstanding staff member. Great location overlooking the harbor. The single room I had booked was very small but they changed me to a double room wit no problem which was fine.

As a frequent business traveler, I am more used to big hotels than small quirky ones. That being said, I would stay here again. There are no phones or alarm clocks in the rooms, but the wifi connection was good. Lots of good restaurants nearby. It's even a short walk to the beach if you're there in summer.

The staff really stands out here and goes out of their way to take care of you.

Room Tip: The single room I was first put into was tiny, I mean really tiny! Definitely book a double room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

We visited Ramsgate on the 17/18th April to visit Pugin's home and the Church he designed.
This hotel is a real gem and quite quirky. Well positioned for the town centre and restaurants. Good views.
Very friendly and would go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowdenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Everything about this hotel from the tea china in the bedroom to the sea views and professional, helpful, personable staff (David and Jill) was super cool - but not in a stuffy, impersonal, try hard, generic kind of way... in a homely, welcoming, relaxed, nice place to be kind of way. My only wish was that we could have stayed another night, and spent the evening by the fire in the lounge at the honesty bar and maybe listening to an old record or two.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A really beautiful old hotel, with fantastic view over the harbor and easy parking. The interior decor is a very tasteful mix of retro and antique and houses a fantastic collection of nautical art,both local and international, vintage and contemporary. For retro and art lovers like us it was home from home. From the moment we walked in we were made welcome by David, the hotel's genial day manager.In the evening there were log fires burning in the two reception rooms, making for a very cost atmosphere. For breakfast we could choose either cold buffet of fruit, cereals and charcuterie or traditional English.Our two hounds were as well received as we were - if only more UK hotels were this dog friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The thoughtfulness started before we arrived! An email arrived apologising for the fact that there would be scaffolding uo on the front of the hotel. There was, but it had absolutely no effect on the great view of the harbour. Every single staff member we met seemed to have but one goal.....................to make us comfy and happy. And they did.

The bedroom was not large but bright, clean and airy with the pillows and sheets and blankets we ha had asked for. The only snag was this, We are getting on a bit and the climb up four flights of steep stairs was a challenge, especially after diner (Do try the fish restaurant called Atlantis. It's REALLY good). The lack of lift, completely understandable given the character of the building, is mentioned on their website, but we missed it. David, bless him, carried our bags up though.

Oh and a perfectly cooked breakfast with lovely fruit salad and cold meats as an alternative.

Thank you guys for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mucklehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

David greeted us in the most warm, professional manner. What a diamond chap this Hotel has! He really brightened our two day stay. The bits which make this a fabulous find, in no particular, order are:
-free parking straight outside the hotel on the road
-the brilliant harbour views
-the 1 minute walk to Magnolia Italian Restaurant- great, hearty nosh
-the amazing breakfast- continental provision is superb and the cooked is delicious and sustaining.....no appetite until 4pm! So a money saver on lunch.....
-the relaxing communal lounge areas: roaring log fire, comfy chairs, magazines for everyone, board games, trivia games, newspapers, music, DVDs to watch- you feel like you're home
-the honesty bar
-the cheese for a cheeky evening snack
-David's advice
-the staff......Carlos, and the owner Jamie......just really nice people making you welcome

The ONLY reason this is a 3 star review is the room. We wanted a TWIN room.
We were advised to take the twin room on the ground floor, which also doubles as a disabled room. Whilst the room is functional, don't be deceived by an advertised 'Wet Room'. The bathroom is not an oasis of contemporary relaxation and neither is the musky room. This room and its facilities do not reflect the quirky care and attention to detail evident in the rest of the Hotel. There is another room upstairs with a double bed and a sofa bed - which could have accommodated us, so this might therefore be a better option as a TWIN traveller.

Room Tip: As a TWIN traveller- don't ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Two nights spent here over the Easter break. We booked 3 rooms for an Easter reunion with friends.

The place is just wonderful, quirky, friendly, beautiful views, a breakfast to die for (you certainly will not need lunch!) All the little extra touches were perfect. Complimentary cheese and biscuits at night time, and those tiny hot water bottles were just so sweet. The vinyl records that you can play in the front sitting room in front of the log fire, the choccy Easter bunny at breakfast on Easter Sunday morning. The inexpensive honesty bar, board games if you fancy staying in, books to read, paintings and pictures to view. Wonderful staff. Yes I could go on! This place is just wonderful and even though it took 7 hours to get there from Scotland it was so worth it. Thank you for looking after us so well. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different We were in room 10 and it is slighlty smaller than the others but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhelper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
515 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $67 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing