We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight at Ramsgate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very nice B&B, staff were friendly and helpful. Family Room comfortable with enough beds for four of us. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleslsegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

I took my husband for a for his 70th birthday, and what a great choice it was! As a surprise our children and their families were coming to visit, but as the time got nearer we were worried about the weather, as a picnic was planned. When I mentioned this to David (the day manager) he solved the problem by offering the use of a room. As it was downstairs everyone was able to sneak in, and lay the tables out without my husband suspecting a thing! Thank you very much David. (his acting skills are very good!)
On our last evening the weather was very rough and the night manager (so sorry I didn't get his name) put the heating on and also lit the log fires. It was really nice to sit by the fire and have a drink and a read. Home from home.
Food here is great. Breakfast really does cater for every taste. I would defy anyone to be unable to get what they want. Everything was very fresh-even the honey on the comb!
Another thing not to be missed is the cheese and crackers that are bought out in the evening. It is something to look forward to at the end of the day.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, with a great view of the harbour and the sea. All the staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very attentive.
I would like to go back again. It was a shame we couldn't stay longer.
Thank you again to all the staff.

Room Tip: Enquire about you room, then you cant moan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craftypambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here in desperation after a soaking wet night in a tent and nowhere else to stay all along the Kent coast. It was more than we'd expect to pay as the room was VERY small - but what a hotel! The staff were marvellous, rooms were clean, it's in a great location and the honesty bar was well-stocked with lovely port which went perfectly with the complementary cheese and biscuits. Sadly, we got back too late to enjoy the fabulous vinyl that was being played. Great breakfast too. It's on our list of favourite get aways.

Room Tip: Check room size and expect small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Well what can i say, the moment i walked into the hotel the atmosphere was great.
I was greeted by David, who was smiling and had a great apperence to him. I was shown around the ground floorr as to where the honesty bar was, and sea view lounges etc.
Then as i walked into room 16 on the first floor i was stunned by the sea view and small balconey, where i could sit and look at the boats coming and going from the Royal Harbour.
The next moring i came down for breakfas to be greeted by a wide selection of fresh fruit salad and orange juice, also fresh honey from buffet table.
I had a fresh cooked full English breakfast tha was highly recomended by another guest who has been staying in the hotel for a while whilst building pontoons ready for the new bigist windfarm in the World. I can say that it was the best breakfast i have ever tasted in any hotel in the Country.
Must visit this great hotel the staff especially David were outstanding and very helpful.
Great job keep it up...

Room Tip: sea view stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Workingman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had a lovely weekend here. Great room, great food and great hospitality. Thanks to David et al for a super weekend break.
Only negative was that parking was a bit of a challenge on the Saturday - free outside but unallocated street parking

Room Tip: Worth paying for the bigger room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Wow....what a beautiful hotel. It was a pleasure to walk through the front door. The hotel is overlooking the harbour in a quiet road. It is a short walk down to the harbour passing 4 restaurants (Italian, French, Indian and a Thai). My favourite was the Thai......small but superb food. The hotel staff were very helpfuf and always had time for a chat, even if it was to discuss the amazing art work. The continental breakfast was wonderful. Everything was fresh tasty and you were asked if you wanted anything cooked. I never did because the continental breakast was delicious ( even had a honeycomb to dip the strawberries in). This hotel is a little gem and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Wheelchair access room has a walk in shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bet31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I'm going to stick my neck out here, and say this is my favourite place to stay in the UK.

It's the 2nd time we've stayed, and we love it. Whilst other quality hotels around the country fall down in some areas, or try to be something they're not, or indeed advertise that way, this hotel is understated, exceeds expectations, and departing seems a bit sad.

We had the family room at the top, which doesn't have the sea view, but is South ish facing, so that in the evenings, the room has a lovely glow and feel. The view across the rooftops is strangely beautiful.

Now the superlatives - best breakfast, best decor, best sleep, best comfort/bed, exceptional service, best lounge area. All slightly quirky also.

Downsides? Not a lot. There doesn't appear to be a lift, and the stairs are clunky, but part of the quirky experience for us. The walls are thin, and noise from other rooms at 5-6pm ish is heard, then again with bathroom use etc. It didn't bother us, and in fact with 2 kids we probably made more noise than others. Ah, yes, the bathroom is v small, with no bath, but it completely sufficed, and again wasn't a factor.

We'll be staying again for sure. I really hope the management keep up the great job and stick to the standards.

Room Tip: Don't bother with sea view, back of hotel best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
513 reviews
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $73 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing