We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest tea shop in Ramsgate”
Review of Marmalade - CLOSED

Marmalade
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The finest tea shop in Ramsgate”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Marmalade is an attractive little cafe serving tea coffee cakes and light meals in the centre of Ramsgate. I found it welcoming and attractive and the food was good and yes, the coffee was excellent. They are the sort of place you will get ethically sourced locally sourced and healthy food. I also enjoyed the famous people's wisdom quotes around the walls. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Ramsgate”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Marmalade is a welcoming, beautifully decorated cafe, and serves excellent coffee with free homemade biscuits! The food is excellent, especially the range of cakes and sandwiches for a traditional high tea. It is easy to relax here at any time of the day and in the winter it has a real fire, which is fantastic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare_Marx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quintessentially English.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I visited Ramsgate with my husband, and chanced upon the most beautiful restaurant. I am disabled and in a wheelchair, we found Marmalade very helpful, very polite, and very interesting. I simply love the exquisite decor, and the service was very good! The tea, coffee, and food was delicious and served on the most elegant china. It makes such a change to eat somewhere where there has been a lot of thought and time put into the design and atmosphere. 10 out of 10 to Marmalade for style and service, we are most definately going back and hope to for many years to come!
Tisha and Alistair.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Found this place by accident but so glad we did.

Initially called in for a coffee and were so Impressed by that, the service and the home made biscuits that went with it, we went back of for a light lunch.
The vegetarian tart was incredible and the scones with clotted cream along with the Victoria Sponge were heavenly.

The decoration inside is unique, the crockery different but beautiful and the Management with their staff were just brilliant.

Don't go anywhere else in Ramsgate for your refreshments!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful, quaint little tea room, perfect for light bites!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

went in for lunch today with my 3 year old son, wasn't too sure what to pick for him, but the scone with jam and clotted cream was perfect, he really enjoyed it! Everything was served on gorgeous plates and china. Me and my partner had cheese and pickle sandwiches, they seemed pricey, but they were really filling and delicious in thick bread. The decor inside is beautiful and very good service, think it's going to become a regular coffee break stop for me when in town, and I'm definitely going to try the high tea on my next visit :-D

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanban1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing