We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

San Clu Restaurant at Comfort Inn
Ranked #100 of 195 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week from midday the San Clu Bar and Restaurant offers a wide variety of lunch and dinner options. We offer a 7 day roast dinner with giant homemade Yorkshire puddings from £6.95, fish, vegetarian, Indian, traditional British food such as liver and bacon as well as steaks and ribs. Bar snacks are also available. We have a Gelato Ice Cream counter and seating outside so you can relax with just a coffee or Ice Cream and enjoy the views. There is a bouncy castle for the kids in the summer.
Shavington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

For a hotel restaurant the food was very reasonably priced and there was a good choice. I had a mixed grill one night and the Wexford steak another; both cooked well and served efficiently. Good real ale on offer as well which was a bonus.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
912 reviews
546 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 653 helpful votes
“nice god value meal”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We ate in our hotel restaurant on our last evening having been disappointed on previous evenings in what Ramsgate had to offer on the culinary front.This was by far the best meal we had on the trip. We had starters of chicken tikka and cheesy garlic bread , big portions and delicious. Mains were ribs, steak and liver an bacon all good but my steak was a little tough. The meals came with lots of chips , onions mushrooms and vegetables. These were are served on the plate with the meat but I would have preferred these on the side. Service was quick , friendly and efficient. Bill came to £42 for 3 people with a bottle of wine which was fantastic value for a huge meal.Much better than the other top listed trip advisor restaurants we tried in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissappointing outing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to give it another chance but unfortunately nothing had changed.
Food not to bad but nothing to shout about but tediously slow and only
owner behind the bar .Poor show really.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid if you want a decent meal and dont want to wait forever”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When my party of 5 arrived at the restaurant we had to wait a bit before anyone came to us to point out where to sit. Only two waitresses were there the whole time on a busy Saturday lunchtime and they were the only ones serving behind the bar as well, so they were jumping from one job to the next. I was told when I ordered something from the 'bar menu' that I wasnt allowed as we were not at the bar!
Had to wait over 45 minutes before our food came, and it certainly wasnt worth the wait, we all had various dishes which were mediocre, (although my mother said her roast beef was very nice and tender).
Worst thing about the meal were the soggy, cold inedible vegetables, which were green beans and carrots. Even if I had asked for them to be heated up they would not have been any more appetising, as they were just a soggy mess and looked about 3 days old. I did mention to waitress after meal about the vegetables of which my partner and myself left on the plate, but she was too rushed off her feet to take much of an interest, and i had not the time or inclination to ask to speak to a manager, which there didn't seem to be any sign of. Needless to say none of us will be returning again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redsylph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“What happened to the staff?”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have only ever eaten here twice, and in truth, the food is not bad at all. Unfortunately, you have to wait a long time for it. The waiting staff, let's just say that English is not usually their first language, have trouble in understanding your order, the food takes a long time to arrive, and the bar is often left unatttended for long periods of time. The front of house staff work very hard, that is evident, it is just that there are not enough of them, as they often have to fulfil two or more roles at once. If the management were to sort this out, they would have a half decent restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardG-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Clu Restaurant at Comfort Inn also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to San Clu Restaurant at Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing