We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spacious room (could do with updating) was clean, warm & comfortable. Huge Bathroom (new) also clean & warm. Great friendly & helpful staff, well stocked & tended bar & the food was ok at a good prices. Being at the north end of Ramsgate it's a 10 minute walk into the town centre with great views over the sea/beach & for the more adventurous your only a 30 minute walk along the cliff top path too Broadstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 334 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel for a number year as the San Clu, now being a Comfort Inn, it has really gone down hill!! Having decided to take my new lady friend to impress her, after so many good times there, I was shocked at the service and room. The management were not really that bothered about anything you were not happy with!! After staying there for 2 nights at £158.00 in a small double bedroom with no hot water in the shower or sink, plus no central heating, only an inadequate air conditioning unit that pumped out air that was supposed to be warm, but being the room was allready cold it was not enough heat all round!....I feel very let down by this, as the food and the location is still great, just a shame that this has made my decision easier as to where I will not be staying in the future! COMFORT INN???? Hardly the right name!!!.......

RS

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I often eat or drink at the Comfort Inn. Mainly for the lovely sea views and ease of parking. However more recently standards of hospitality would compare more with a fast food outlet, rather than a hotel where staff should be, present, attentive and able to go the extra mile when asked for help. It has lost it's personal touch, a great shame as it could be marvelous!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a sea view away from the sound of airconditioning at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare_Marx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in a twin room for one night. The room wasn't huge but clean with tea/coffee facilities, a flat screen tv which was fine if you wanted to watch BBC but all the other channels had horrible interference on them. The toilet was quite stained and the shower, though quite powerful, was coated in limescale.
Continental breakfast was included, but I opted for the full English, an additional fiver. It was fine but don't bother asking for a poached egg, the chef obviously had no idea, it was a curious combination of scrambled and hard boiled. The receptionist was very nice and helpful.
The hotel is on the seafront, a 10 minute or so walk from the town centre which has nothing you haven't seen in every other small town in the country. We went to the beach at Broadstairs which is a short drive away and lovely.
All in all the hotel is fine but a bit overpriced in my opinion. I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clockendkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is absolutely fine. Staff are very friendly and helpful and met a standard of 5 star hotels. The decor is dated but the rooms are warm comfortable and clean. The meals were good, just a bit predictable. Don't avoid it due to comments on this site.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaza-munch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a family room for four of us - mum, dad, our 5 and 2 year olds. Great room, overlooking the sea. Comfy, really friendly staff, ace location. (Why not 'excellent' rather than 'very good'? The hotel could do with some investment in its decor and furnishings, but I wouldn't let this put you off.)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ68UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the family room a couple of weeks ago, we were attending a family re-union. We had a lovely four poster bed and our little granddaughter had a lovely soft single bed.All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was extensive in its choices. The bar snacks were tasty and filling and the evening meals in the restaurant were absolutely delicious. We could find no fault with anything, and our future holidays will always be spent here.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.7 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,141 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ramsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ramsgate

Address: Victoria Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8DT, England (Formerly Minotel San Clu)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $68 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Ramsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian grade II listed building, offering 44 en-suite rooms. Private hotel guest only gym and sauna, public bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ramsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ramsgate Hotel Ramsgate
Comfort Ramsgate Inn
Ramsgate Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Ramsgate Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing