We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value lunch”
Review of The Royal

The Royal
Ranked #106 of 195 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value lunch”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We always have the special "2 for £6 lunch" deal. It is excellent and very well presented by the chef who brings to table and is very friendly. Don't know why people complain. If they want top service they should go to a more expensive venue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank violet90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible service!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

As a french family, at 5 p.m. we just wanted to have a drink. When we entered, nobody said "hello", maybe because an employee was installing Halloween decorations up on a stepladder, in the middle of the pub. The two waitresses seemed to see us, and we thought they would take the order, but actually they were staring at us. They pretented to clean some tables (which were very dirty when we arrived, and still so when we leaved), laughed with the men, and never took the order. We finally leaved as we didn't want to wait for half an hour. My kids were kind, so I'm still wondering why all this. If families not accepted, write it outside, thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank na d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Royal”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Noisy and overpriced at night, but seems a place for the youngsters to pass their weekends.
Reception room let out for functions the best aspect of the place, Not the place to go for a quiet drink, but serves those who like lively noisy company and surroundings very well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't go here!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

as with every Thorley Tavern the toilets stink, the service is very poor & the food is over priced & seems to be frozen then warmed up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevezx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely view shame about the clientele.”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This pub is in a wonderful position over looking Ramsgate harbour. But I would not recommend anyone over 30 to go there,as the place is full of kids and the music is so loud that you have to shout to be heard at the bar.so for youngsters only.

Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing