We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Information”
Review of The Custom House

The Custom House
Ranked #23 of 53 things to do in Ramsgate
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The building was built for Customs & Excise and was used as this until the 1980's. It is now home to the Ramsgate Visitor Centre, the Custom House Coffee Shop, a gallery and gift shop Nice Things and the RNLI shop. Ramsgate's Town Council have the first floor with the Mayor's Parlour and the Council Chamber, which is available for hire for dinners and parties. The building has been well restored and has most of its original features including the doors and ornate plaster mouldings.
ramsgate
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Information”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I have ventured into the Custom House on various occasions and find the atmosphere and staff extremely helpful and friendly. The cafe serve great food along with the opportunity of finding out about the area. I needed some information on Pugins house and Pugin's association with Ramsgate and found the lovely lady on reception more than helpful and well-informed.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank lustyRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a wonderful surprise”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were in Ramsgate on our wedding anniversary staying at the royal Ok which was quite pleasant and were pointed to the custom house on the sea front to get some local information. When we got there, what a wonderful surprise, the girl behind the counter, lisa, was so sweet and beautiful and discussed the local possibilities with me for over an hour. She set up a shop selling all sorts of women's accessories in the front of the building at a great value for such unusual merchandise. Strange to mix the two jobs but my husband bought a beautiful broach for me for £15. Lisa and Fifi from the cafe, you made our weekend.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank marybillins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We visited Ramsgate and found the Custom House. What a quaint atmosphere. Full of imteresting accessories spread around the foyer. The girl at the counter was very helpful and spent a lot of time with us. I bought a scarf for my wife which was quite unique.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Samual66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely building - shame about the catering facilities”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This beautiful Victorian red brick building, with it's eye catching copper dome stands on Ramsgate Harbour Parade and had been derelict for sixteen years (when it was owned by Frank Thorley) . Last year it was extensively and sympathetically renovated by a local builder who was awarded The Ramsgate Society's prestigious 'Best Town Image' award for his efforts. It is now home to Ramsgate Town Council, a cafe and a gift shop.

My Mum and I visited The Custom House at lunchtime on a Sunday, it was a lovely sunny day. The atrium was light and bright and had a reception desk and some information leaflets and cards. Leading off this to the right was a gift shop with the usual mix of arty, hand crafted goods. The cafe/restaurant was situated at the back of the building via a corridor which led past the counter and the kitchen. The dining room was a disappointingly bare looking room (albeit with chandelliers) and the high ceiling made the acoustics terrible. The music was noisy and annoying. Not the serene kind of music you'd expect for such a venue. More like 50s motorbike cafe style! Service was non existent. We waited 15 mins and no one came to take our order. We did ask a waitress if she could turn the music down a bit, but this was ignored. You couldn't hold a conversation. My Mother wears hearing aids and it was unbearable for her. We left and went elsewhere. The music system was just an iphone in an ipod, by the way. Could do much better with more attentive staff and more serene, quieter music.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank blondeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Travel Information”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Lovely building on the seafront. Needed some advice on whats on in the area and how to go about booking a ferry. The rather wild haired lady on the counter was buried beneath a load of paraphernalia not relating to anything remotely to do with tourists although we were told it was tourist information. . Once we managed to attract her attention, she appeared clueless!!! Nice start to our trip!! After a pleasant pot of tea had in the coffee shop, we mentioned this to the gentlemen serving. He put us in the direction of the official tourist office. This is in Margate! Goodness me! Nice building though.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Manhead1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Custom House also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing