We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder it was busy!”
Review of La Magnolia

La Magnolia
Ranked #8 of 199 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family business with a beautiful view and Alfresco sitting on the Ramsgate harbor and authentic Italian cuisine, our dishes are created with passion and with great care for the quality of the products, have a wood-burning oven for pizza, we also won the prestigious award for best restaurant Italian in kent 2009
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No wonder it was busy!”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Wonderful views and superb food. You really do need to book this place as it it busy but worth it. The staff are charming and the menu full of choices. So go!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinoSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    157
    49
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Out of Service”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I can't tell you anything about the food as we didn't stay that long. We sat outside and waited to be served. We had to wait 25 minutes just to get a drink. Then another 20 minutes later the manager came to take our order issuing lots of apologies. Then mid way through the order, and without even a single word in our direction he left to suck up to a group of locals that had arrived. He slobbered on them for 15 minutes and looked like he had no intention of completing our order so we took our custom elsewhere. I felt extremely embarrassed for our host in Ramsgate. The manager should be ashamed of himself for such rude and thoughtless behaviour.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n4aat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of Italy right here in Ramsgate!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My friends and I spent a lovely afternoon in the sun sitting outside of La Magnolia on Sunday afternoon. We had amazing Crab Gnocchi, Lobster Ravioli and a very meaty meatloaf dish for the man in our group! The food was well presented and absolutely delicious - the gnocchi is no longer on the menu but they are happy to still make any previous menu items if requested! The staff were very friendly and attentive - Alfred and Luca made our afternoon so enjoyable that we stayed several hours. Beautiful views over the harbour and a family feel to the decor of the restaurant. They also have their own pizza oven. Highly recommended - thank you Alfred and Luca for a lovely, lazy Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisycat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed the lovely food and the exellent staff.”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I really enjoyed the foods,because the ingredients is fantastic and different. The colours are so nice and the staff are really friendly.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinus1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Realtime Italian food”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

A wide (including prices) and interesting menu, not just limited to any particular Italian region, although Neapolitan dishes were well in evidence. There was just that bit of "organised Italian chaos" on the part of the waiters that tells you that all of the kitchen`s output is fresh cooked by a frenetic team of Italians. It was a great "nothing is too much trouble" sometimes lively atmosphere. Our table was for 8, but it could just as easily been for 2, as we were all served at the same time, and I have to say with a sense of occasion and very Italian panache. Last to mention but by no means least was the delicious authentic "real" Italian food , a very long way from the usual "chain Italian restaurants" And the large wine list was also reasonably priced. I couldn`t really find fault, with the possible exception that there was no disabled loo facility as it`s a historic building.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugsie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Magnolia also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to La Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing