We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for small parties”
Review of Royal Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Royal Indian Cuisine
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Finest indian cuisine best location for parties and business meetings
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good for small parties”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Standard but good quality Indian meal. Very fast service by a smart and helpful waitress. Caters well for small groups of eight or ten people

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    6
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average food with poor service”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

For a Saturday night it seemed very quite with not even half the tables taken... maybe that was a sign.
Popadoms came out with only one dip, with the others to follow. Ten minutes later and still no lime pickle or onion salad, which are my favourites and were saving my popadoms for. The pickle came and we were advised the chef was still preparing the onion salad. One of the waiters finally bought it out and I got stuck in at long last. About a minute later, another waiter came to clear the table and took my plate which I was still eating from. Because of the delay with popadoms, the mains were now ready, so we're rushed into starting these. The mains were average, not particularly flavoursome, just plenty of chilli. The breads were quite dense and heavy, and didn't taste particularly fresh.
During the meal, someone came and sat with us begging for money for food and nappies. The staff didn't really act on this even when we bought it to their attention.
Prices seemed ok for the prime location, however food and service certainly prove not value for money. I think a curry and pint down spoons for £5.99 would have been better as that was the price for just a pint here.
Maybe we were very unlucky when we went. Overall, disappointing, and certainly wouldn't go back or recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamma, Owner at Royal Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Many thanks for the review all I can say sorry for the inconvenience although beer was not that price I think u misread the price and about that girl we thought u know her that why she sitting with u people .but in future we take extra care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A recent visit to Ramsgate with my sister in law brought us back to Baithak an Indian Restaurant once again. The views over the Harbour were excellant and as usual so was the food. We have visited this Restaurant several times before and have never been dissapointed. Good food great staff and we will most certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“gorgeous food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went here last night with my husband,we have been a couple of times but a while ago.Things hav'nt changed much here food is still amazing and service is great.We would totally recommend this restaurant,best indian food we've had in a while.Lovely chilled out night where nothing was too much trouble.The only thing i would say is its a shame this place isn't that busy there's clearly alot of Indian food lovers missing out on some amazing Indian food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r1tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontoise, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good and friendly restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is just next to the Royal Harbour hotel that we stayedf in

It was middle of the week, we were the only people eating that night

The satff were very helpful, helping us to choose the meal and the side dishes that went with it, explaing all at the same time, how it was made, why choose this and not that ....

The main meal was better than average, the nans were not, the honey nan for instance had to much honey on it making it far to sweet, the garlic nan had very little garlic

All in all a good meal, a little expensive, at around £50 for three beers , three nans, and two dishes

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing