We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring an appetite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Vista Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bring an appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The meze is amazing. So many different dishes you will be reeling. I have spent many fantastic evenings here. The view over the harbour is full on and the owners and staff are really approachable and friendly. One of my favourite restaurants and by far the best meze I have had for many years

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rickmansworth
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“walk on by your stomach and nerves will thank you !!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

hottest day in october , nice looking Restaurant over looking the Harbour at sunset , should be a perfect end to a great day.

it wasnt!

we had a drink out side at first , which was ok, however for a Mediterranean styled Restaurant, there were no appetizers on the menu.

we went upstairs to a roomy and modern looking dining area,

from now on its all down hill

we ordered pitta and houmous as a starter, and steak and chicken kebabs without greek salad after 30 mins and another glass of wine each we enquired where it was, we were told it should be soon, ten minutes latter our main courses arrived with greek salad and chips .

i said we had not had our starter and the main courses were not to have greek salad. the waitress apologised , and shortly we had received our starter.

then our main courses arrived, these were the same courses we had been presented with 40 mins prior . the chips were refried and had come greasy, the chicken and steak reheated, and therefore tough.

the red wine ordered when the starter turn up, came just as we had finshed eating what we could of the main.

we both went to use the toliets, and there was no soap or handwash ( how do staff wash hands ?)

the problem with this place is the staff have no training or direction from the owner / manager , perhaps i should of picked up and how less busy than the other places on the harbour.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Avoid this restuarant at all costs, over priced poorly cooked food. My starter of King Prawsn in Garlic - how can anyone serve empty over cooked booked prawn shells at nearly £8 and get away with it? The wine was barely cool, the rest of it was mediocre and the waitresses willing but didn't know the food or what they are about! But nice to be with the family - together in adversity

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jcmdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An unexpected suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Having seen some of the negative reviews on this place we where not sure it was a good choice, but it turned out to be a very nice surprise. We where looking for a quick meal and an early night after a long journey so just went to the first place we came to.
We where the only people dinning in the restaurant. Downstairs the bar was busy and the outside tables where full. The service was excellent, the food good and the views over the marina where great.Cant fault it for the price of £25 per head with booze.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrfoodanddrink063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We are quite local to Ramsgate but would probably not have visited this restaurant if we hadn't won a meal voucher in a charity raffle. However we are so glad we got the opportunity to sample it. It is situated in quite a lively strip but has such beautiful views over Ramsgate Harbour. Not sure I would like to be there late at night when the bars would be buzzing and noisy with young people but at the time of the evening we were there, between 7.00pm - 9. 30pm, it was quiet both inside the restaurant and outside.
The service, contrary to some other comments on here, was excellent from start to finish.
The restaurant was clean and modern with spectacular views from the first floor with large windows overlooking the harbour which changed as the sun set to a beautiful, twinkling vista. The staff were friendly and attentive.
The food was excellent. We ordered some olives while we pondered the menu, which was quite extensive, and drank some very good and moderately priced wine. I started with taramasalata with very hot pitta bread which was too much for me to finish. My partner had calamari which, although fresh and hot, left him wanting more.
We both chose to have kleftico as a main - even though we hate choosing the same dish usually. However the waiter recommended it saying it was freshly out of the oven.
He was so right - it was delicious with the lamb falling off the bone. It was so large I couldn't finish it. It came with rice and a large Greek salad however I asked to substitute the rice for saute potatoes and they obliged readily - and the potatoes, again more than I could eat, were lovely cooked with Rosemary. We were unable to manage a desert so cannot comment but I imagine it would be in the same vein. The whole bill including a bottle of wine and a beer came to £53 which thought was very reasonable - especially considering the portion sizes.
We would definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing