We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“how come this is not the number 1 in ramsgate?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Vue Tavern

Belle Vue Tavern
Ranked #39 of 194 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cliff top Shepherd Neame Tenanted Pub with large patio overlooking Pegwell Bay. Reservations are strongly recommended as this establishment gets extremely busy, especially during the Summer months
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“how come this is not the number 1 in ramsgate?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

this gastro pub has got to be the best place to eat in ramsgate,hard to find/yes. but keep looking.it is well worth it,the food is excellent,and in the summer,to have your meal out on the patio,must be the best place in southern england,no not must be,is the best place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    63
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
deal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Whenever we are in the Thanet area my husband & I always treat ourselves to lunch at The Belle Vue. The bar snacks are varied & plentiful.The staff are always welcoming & efficient, even when it's busy. In the winter there is a log fire burning which is so cosy. In the summer there's no better place to while away an hour two out on the terrace overlooking Pegwell Bay.
The attention to detail inside the Tavern is super. Fresh flowers always adorn the place even in the ladies toilets! Definately try this little gem for yourselves.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Belle Vue Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent Public house. Staff very pleasant. Service excellent. Food very nice.
The views are excellent looking out to sea &a very nice patio area for eating as well.
Toilets top class very clean & very well serviced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG47-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been to the Bellevue on several occasions, it just gets better and better, the staff are attentive, smiley and very courteous and the landlord is like a whirlwind ensuring everything is first class. As you can tell by his dress sense the decor and lovely homely yet classy touches to the pub are made by his wife landlady Shirley. Excellent atmosphere and surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KentChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Ramsgate Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have eaten here before and remarked how good the food was for a busy lunchtime. I looked forward to coming back and I was not disappointed. After a long car journey we were parched and hungry. A couple of pints of Hurlimanns and an excellent, tender, moist rump steak later we felt at peace with the world. I cleared my plate, which is not a usual thing with me and my better half, who so often lucks out with the gristly steak was delighted and said best steak ever! I am not the sort to give unearned praise but I am happy to recommend Tony, Shirley and staff for their friendly manner, well run bar and restaurant and delightful location. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Vue Tavern also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Belle Vue Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing