We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a delight”

Alexandra Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #29 of 195 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Alexandra Ristorante Italiano, Pizza, Pasta, Vino established since 1987, overlooking the picturesque Royal Harbour Ramsgate and Yacht Marina, the only Royal Harbour in the United Kingdom. We are the only Italian restaurant with Italian origin in Ramsgate and offering a wide choice authentic Italian pizza and pasta including locally sourced meat, fish and vegetarian specialities. Free on the road parking after 6.00pm and 24hr Pay & Display public car park. Easy access for disables, everything is on the ground floor.
folkestone
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a delight”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

"2nd visit to this wonderfull restaurant and even better than the first.service by the lovely Maria is different but nice the food is brilliant.If anyone gives a bad review they have no taste.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffersFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    73
    27
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good food, very poor service.”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Saturday evening 8:15 long wait for wine, no bread or bread sticks as in any other Italian. 2 cold starters ordered 1 pizza 1 pasta dish. One hour later the starters, no apologies !! Not that busy maybe 7 tables occupied, so no excuses, would not go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bifron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homemade, Authentic, Seafront location”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

First people in the restaurant but quickly started filling up.

Greeted by the chef and shown to a table. The menu definitely delivered, the food was fantastic. I had the Sea bass Ravioli although i did find the sauce a little heavy but that is my personal taste. The last time i went here was 20 years ago! The food has always been good but it has struggled to keep up with the trendy wine bars, I hope that people see that the food speaks for itself and i wish them every success.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank coz500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere and friendly service”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We visit the Alexandra frequently and have always had a very enjoyable time. The food is excellent, with a great menu. Whenever we visit we are greeted with a smile and are always looked after very well. we would highly recommend the Alexandra to anyone who enjoys good food and a relaxed atmosphere with the added bonus of overlooking a lovely harbour.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mike1795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“authentic experience, scenic position and smiley service”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had seen this restaurant featured on The Restaurant Inspector and travelled from London to sample the delights.
There were several customers sitting on the outside terrace in the sunshine so I was fine about sitting at a table; not too keen about going in an empty restaurant, pity about the scaffolding but shows care and attention to the building, and what an attractive frontage.
Maria welcomed me and was attentive throughout, asking if I wanted more wine, which is a gesture always appreciated!
The sardines starter was fine but with too much butter; the menu did say butter so I should have asked for none. The seafood risotto was really delicious and generous, followed by John or Paul's scrumptious chocolate desert, very rich, recommended if not counting the calories.
The menu had a good choice of dishes at competitive prices, although it would have been a nice gesture if the olives and garlic bread offered at the start were complementary.
I had a look inside and the atmosphere really lovely and very Italian.
The best located restaurant I am sure and I was made to feel welcome, so would recommend it and good luck to the family, so much better than eating in a well known chain name.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank christaylorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandra Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Alexandra Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing